CC=.5 FC=14 Need advice to lower FC

Glock30

LifeTime Supporter
Apr 30, 2012
Massachusetts, USA
Tested my water again last night trying to prep the pool for the upcoming long weekend.

FC=14 (28 drops of reagent)
CC=.5 (possibly less)
TA=150
CYA holding steady at 75
pH 7.5

I am new so please bear with me.
I bought my SWG oversize to reduce wear and tear but I am only running it at 20% for 5 hours a day and getting these results.
I reduced the SWG run time last night to 3 hrs. a day and we will see what that does.

Any other suggestions out there as to what I am missing that my FC is so high? Better than alge I guess :(

I also figured out that I was doing the tests wrong with my TF100 Kit.
It should state in the directions that the bottles should be held upside down and not horizontal when counting drops.
This may seem obvious to some, but I have never done this before and was getting small drops and therefore inaccurate readings.
Results above are with bottles upside down when counting drops.

You will need to play with the pump run times and percentages so you get enough pump time to turn the water over once per day and don't over chlorinate the pool. You may try leaving the SWG off for 24 hours and see how much the FC drops.

You could double check your Chlorine test results against the simple colormetric test. I forget what color 14 ppm matches but it should be somewhat near orange or at least a very dark yellow. Maybe someone with a better memory than me can chime in.

zea3 said:
You will need to play with the pump run times and percentages so you get enough pump time to turn the water over once per day and don't over chlorinate the pool. You may try leaving the SWG off for 24 hours and see how much the FC drops.

Wait ... possible conflicting info from the OP.