Wiring issue Hayward SwimPure Plus with Hayward EcoStar pump

May 22, 2012
I recently bought a house with an inground pool. Everything had to be replaced (pump, filter, etc.) since it hadn't been used in some time. I decided to go with a SWG. Bought the Hayward SwimPure Plus and a Hayward EcoStar (variable speed pump). Instructions for wiring the SwimPure say to wire it up to your timer since it can only run when your pump is running. I don't have a timer. The EcoStar has built in controls and timers. The instructions give options to wire the SwimPure up to Goldline, Pentair, and Polaris controls........which I also don't have. I'm new to this so I could easily be missing something simple. Do I also wire the SwimPure up to it's own breaker? If so...20amp? And...what is the point of the flow switch for the SwimPure? Figured that would activate the unit once it saw flow...???? Would really appreciate any help anyone may give.

Re: Wiring issue Hayward SwimPure Plus with Hayward EcoStar

Welcome to TFP!

Running the SWG without water flow runs a small risk of an explosion, so installs are normally designed to prevent that from ever happening in several different ways. For example the flow switch will turn off the SWG when there is no flow, and the timer (if you had a normal timer) will also turn off the SWG when the pump is off. Flow switches are not all that reliable, so it is unwise to depend on the flow switch alone.

You have a couple of choices. You could get a separate timer just for the SWG and program it to correspond to the EcoStar programming. Or you can install a current sensing relay to only turn on the SWG when it senses the pump drawing power.

I'm in exactly this same situation and want to revive this thread with additional questions.

1) What type of current sensing relay would you recommend?