Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Help my daughter has a rash!

1. Back To Top    #1

Help my daughter has a rash!

This is my first year doing the BBB method. My 8 year old daughter develops a rash every time she gets in the pool. I'm thinking it must be the Borax. Has anyone else experienced this? Is there a way to get it out? Ph 7.6, Cl 3ppm, CYA 35, Alkalinity 75
    14' x 28' Grecian Vinyl IGP 13,300gal, Hayward SP2607X10 Super Pump, Hayward C1200 Star-Clear Plus cartidge filter, TF-100, Taylor k-2006 test kits

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Help my daughter has a rash!

How did you get those test results? Kit, pool store, etc.
    How long has the pool been open?
    Your chlorine is a little low and if that's TC and not FC you may have a problem.

I doubt it's the Borax.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

3. Back To Top    #3

Pool has been open 2 weeks. Results are from a strip. I don't know if it is TC or FC, I believe most strips show TC.
    14' x 28' Grecian Vinyl IGP 13,300gal, Hayward SP2607X10 Super Pump, Hayward C1200 Star-Clear Plus cartidge filter, TF-100, Taylor k-2006 test kits

4. Back To Top    #4

You need a better way to test your pool. Which strips? (although they are all pretty much useless). Some will measure FC and TC. Although for all you know you have 0 Free Chlorine and 3ppm of Combined Chlorine (which is the bad kind ).

Getting one of the recommended test kits (see my sig. for a link) will be one of the best investments you can make for your pool ... especially if it prevents the rashes which take away the enjoyment.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir