Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Need a little direction

1. Back To Top    #1

Need a little direction

We are opening our in ground pool this week. Last year I found this board when converting from baquacil to the BBB method so I remember bringing the chlorine up to about 15 when shocking. Do I still need to do that when opening the pool?

When I tested the stabilizer, there was none so I am currently adding that via a sock in the skimmer. I haven't added any bleach as of yet.

PH 7.2
    FC 0
    CA 0

What do I need to do next? This is my first year opening the pool using the BBB method.

Thanks so much!

Mindy
    Inground 18K gallons - DE Filter - Vinyl Liner

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Need a little direction

It would be nice to have a full set of test results to start with.

First, what does the water look like?

Given what level you have given, it looks like you just need CYA and FC.
    How much CYA did you add (what was your target level)?
    The amount of FC you have to maintain depends on the CYA level: see Chlorine CYA Chart

That chart also lists the shock level required for your given CYA level ... if your pool is green or you are not able to maintain FC and require going through the Shocking Your Pool process.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

Ok, I have the full readings now.

FC = 0

PH = 7.2

ALK = 110

CYA = 30

So, do I need to shock the water and then check hourly and bring it back to shock level? This is the part I am not too sure about.

Are the PH and Alkalinity levels ok?

Thanks so much!

4. Back To Top    #4