So pro team supreme PLUS adds to TA after all?

Swampwoman

TFP Expert
LifeTime Supporter
Apr 27, 2012
Grand Rapids, MI
Hi all. Still a newbie here in first season of recovering foreclosed swamp. After clearing ocl test, etc, spent a week aerating and adding acid to bring TA down from 190-200 range to 80.

So, lazy soul that I am, I added protean supreme PLUS -- the ph neutral kind -- yesterday in two batches of 44 lbs per mfg recc, 12 hrs apart. (lazy b/c I didn't feel like questing for 20 mule team borax). My ph was 7.4 and TA 80 when I added it.

Perhaps naively, I expected it to mean it was also TA neutral when it said ph neutral.

This morning, here are my readings:
FC 5.5
CC less than .5 (10 ml test)
PH 7.8 - 7.9ish

TA 160 !!!

I did not add water or anything. I did remove the fountain and turned on my Hayward h series heater, the water has warmed from 60 to 78 this a.m.

The mfg instruction say to "adjust ph" after adding, so it's clear they don't think it's all that neutral either ;)

Is this normal, and did I misunderstand the TA impact of "neural borates"?

Or is something else going on?

I've added what acid I have left to head toward 7.5 from the acid demand test, and will need to get more, but I was looking for confirmation that this is what's supposed to happen.

Thanks in advance for the hand holding. ;)

She started the season with this:
Swampwoman said:
Hi all. Still a newbie here in first season of recovering foreclosed swamp. After clearing ocl test, etc, spent a week aerating and adding acid to bring TA down from 190-200 range to 80.

Swampwoman wanted to add borates and keep the TA around 80 but after she added the Pro-Team Supreme, the TA rose to 160 and the pH rose to 7.8-7.9. She did not expect the TA or pH to rise since Pro-Team is labeled as "pH neutral".

I would expect the TA to go up by 10 or 20. Adding borates always raises the TA a little.