Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Installing an actuator

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Northville, Mi
    Posts
    307

    Installing an actuator

    I don't have any actuators installed and I have just two valves - one is for the skimmer/main drain and the other is for the pool jts/deck jets. I'd like to put actuators on these valves, but I'm wondering how difficult that would be to do. From the scant documentation I can find, it seems like all I do is sort of unscrew the regular valve cover and put the actuator in (overly simplified). No idea where I would hook power up in my panel though.

    Anyway - the basic question is - is this something I could do myself fairly easily? (I'm pretty handy). Also, would anyone know if I could just wire these two to "valve a" and "valve b" in my ET4? The install guide says "Connect the Valve A actuator cable plug into the INTAKE (suction) 3-pin socket, and Valve B actuator cable plug into the RETURN three-pin socket on the right side of the EasyTouch circuit board" but says it can control 4 valves without any additional equipment, so that part doesn't make sense to me either.
    15,400 gal, 16x32 vinyl rectangle (sport dig), Intelliflo VS, 240 sqft cartridge filter, Intellichlor IC40, Mastertemp 250, Dolphin supreme M4 cleaning, Pentair EasyTouch4

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Installing an actuator

    Installing valve actuators is fairly simple, especially if you already have the ET4 setup. You remove the handle and a few screws from the existing valve, attach the actuator, screw them together, run the cable, and plug it into the ET4.

    The ET4 has a total of four places your can plug in valve actuators. Which socket you plug the actuator into determines what that valve is called in the menu system.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Northville, Mi
    Posts
    307

    Re: Installing an actuator

    So there is just the one socket to plug in and nothing else? You don't need to run any additional connections for power or anything?
    15,400 gal, 16x32 vinyl rectangle (sport dig), Intelliflo VS, 240 sqft cartridge filter, Intellichlor IC40, Mastertemp 250, Dolphin supreme M4 cleaning, Pentair EasyTouch4

  4. Back To Top    #4
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Installing an actuator

    One cable to run from the actuator to the ET4 and that is all. The ET4 powers the actuator.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Northville, Mi
    Posts
    307

    Re: Installing an actuator

    Wow - seems simple and easy! They're Jandy Never Lube valves - any particular actuator recommended for those?
    15,400 gal, 16x32 vinyl rectangle (sport dig), Intelliflo VS, 240 sqft cartridge filter, Intellichlor IC40, Mastertemp 250, Dolphin supreme M4 cleaning, Pentair EasyTouch4

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Northville, Mi
    Posts
    307

    Re: Installing an actuator

    One other question along these lines...I've read that some ET4 are "single body" systems and therefore cannot control any valve actuators. First, is that the case - that a "single body" system won't control even valve a and valve b? And second, how the heck do you tell which one you have (single body or pool/spa)? The circuits are named pool and spa, but I can't tell if that's an indicator or not and the "tech" who set it up I don't think is knowledgeable enough to have changed it otherwise.
    15,400 gal, 16x32 vinyl rectangle (sport dig), Intelliflo VS, 240 sqft cartridge filter, Intellichlor IC40, Mastertemp 250, Dolphin supreme M4 cleaning, Pentair EasyTouch4

  7. Back To Top    #7
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Installing an actuator

    If you have pool and spa settings then you have the two body version. All versions will control a few actuators, but the pool/spa version can control one more valve than the single body version.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Southeast Louisiana
    Posts
    174

    Re: Installing an actuator

    Quote Originally Posted by JasonLion
    If you have pool and spa settings then you have the two body version.
    This may not be correct. Ours is an Easytouch 4P (which is the single-body system) but it still mentions Pool and Spa circuits in the menu system. I'm pretty sure the Spa-specific functionality is disabled though.

    --Michael
    Slidell, Louisiana (near New Orleans) 11,000gal kidney shaped Trilogy fiberglass pool Intelliflo VS Triton TR100 filter Easytouch 4 w/IC20 SWCG Polaris 280

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •