Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Aqua Plus with Total Chemistry

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    18

    Aqua Plus with Total Chemistry

    Hello, everyone. I just tried testing my pool with the K-2006 test kit for the first time. If I did it right it shows my PH is at 7.0. I tried running the Chlorine test but I could never get the water to turn from pink (or should I say red in this case) to white. I currently have my chlorinator set to 50%. With my low PH and I'm assuming high Chlorine count, should I drop the percentage?
    15,000 gallon, Cartridge, In-Ground, Plaster Pool and Spa, Saltwater, Hayward AquaPlus Automated Chlorinator with Total Pool Chemistry Acid Feed System.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Isaac-1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SW Louisiana
    Posts
    6,711

    Re: Aqua Plus with Total Chemistry

    Ok, a couple of questions

    for the FC test did you use the 25 or the 10 ml sample size? In general you want to use the 10 ML sample size so that every drop counts for .5 ppm of chlorine

    For the pH I would certainly stop feeding it acid and may suggest doing something to raise the pH, depending on how fast it normally drifts up.

    As to your target FC level that will depend on your CYA level, which you did not post.
    Indoor 20x40 35,000 gallon vinyl pool with 1.5 HP 2 speed Jandy FloPro pump, Hayward EC75 Perflex DE filter, 11 4x12 Techno-Solis solar panels w/ Aquasolar controller, Aquabot Turbo T Robot Cleaner. Also LMI metering chlorine dispenser pump and HotSpring Jetsetter
    I use and endorse TFtestKits TF-100 from http://tftestkits.net
    ~Remember TFP counts on your donations to keep this site ad free~

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    18

    Re: Aqua Plus with Total Chemistry

    Quote Originally Posted by Isaac-1
    Ok, a couple of questions

    for the FC test did you use the 25 or the 10 ml sample size? In general you want to use the 10 ML sample size so that every drop counts for .5 ppm of chlorine

    For the pH I would certainly stop feeding it acid and may suggest doing something to raise the pH, depending on how fast it normally drifts up.

    As to your target FC level that will depend on your CYA level, which you did not post.
    I used the 10ml size. I just dropped my chlorinator from 50% to 30%. I tested the CYA and it looks to be around 30ppm.
    15,000 gallon, Cartridge, In-Ground, Plaster Pool and Spa, Saltwater, Hayward AquaPlus Automated Chlorinator with Total Pool Chemistry Acid Feed System.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    18

    Re: Aqua Plus with Total Chemistry

    Just came back from the pool store. Alkalinity <50, PH very low. Was advised to turn off the acid feed for a few days due to the amount of acid in my pool. Could this be due to using ORP and having the Chlorinator set to 50%? Does anyone know how to disable ORP along wihh the acid feed system for awhile.
    15,000 gallon, Cartridge, In-Ground, Plaster Pool and Spa, Saltwater, Hayward AquaPlus Automated Chlorinator with Total Pool Chemistry Acid Feed System.

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    200

    Re: Aqua Plus with Total Chemistry

    So you're using automated acid? When was the last time you calibrated the sensor? I find that you need to adjust it every couple of months, and when it's getting close to being completely worn out, it is off more than 1.0. The ORP system is not going to work reliably unless your PH is stable in the right range - at least that's what I have found on my Chemlink.
    38K Gallons IG, Intelliflow VS-SVRS, 30GPM 24/7, 72sqft DE Filter, Spectralight UV, Jandy C1900 driving Liquid Chlorine and Acid (toys, I know..), Jandy LXi gas heater, Aquacal SQ175 Heatpump, Riverflow Competition swimmer, Jandy automation, Touch and iAqualink, Pebblesheen | The Build

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    18

    Re: Aqua Plus with Total Chemistry

    Quote Originally Posted by shakenbake
    So you're using automated acid? When was the last time you calibrated the sensor? I find that you need to adjust it every couple of months, and when it's getting close to being completely worn out, it is off more than 1.0. The ORP system is not going to work reliably unless your PH is stable in the right range - at least that's what I have found on my Chemlink.

    Yes, I'm using an acid feed system. I actually turned the acid feed system completely off for almost a week and now all of my tests are coming in perfect. My automation system readings are way off, so I think I need to clean the probes and recalibrate. I'm going to try that and see what happens.
    15,000 gallon, Cartridge, In-Ground, Plaster Pool and Spa, Saltwater, Hayward AquaPlus Automated Chlorinator with Total Pool Chemistry Acid Feed System.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •