Become a TFP Supporter Welcome to our new server and new forum software. Pool School

Thread: Pool Frog question/opinions

Pool Frog question/opinions

Hi
    I have been using the frog system for 14 years. replace the mineral pack every year, pool season is about 4.5 mths long.
    some staining over the years, some algea occasionally. But I add chlorine powder (Leslies power powder plus usually about every 3 to 5 days depending on the weather) in addition to the Frog tablet insertsI
    overall fairly satisfied but wondering if I should continue this or switch to BBB or if I could be asking for trouble after this long using the frog system..(I hate paying $110 for the mineral insert (current price) and another $100 for 6 inserts that last 8 to 10 days each)
    need some expert opinions.....thx
    26K gal, plaster, 16 years old, raised attached spa - 1 1/2 HP purex triton pump, brand new 48 sq ft Pentair DE filter with multiport, Polaris 380 w/pump, Raypac propane heater (hardly use) - all original except Polaris pump & Pentair filter - live in eastern PA

Re: Pool Frog question/opinions

Hi, welcome to TFP! We have quite a few members who converted to the bbb method after using pool frog and other mineral based systems, it is not difficult to do. BBB is all about accurate testing and keeping the water balanced. If you could post a complete set of recent test results. (FC, TA,pH,CH,CYA) we can tell you what you would need to do to get started.
    TFP Moderator
    Helpful links: TF Test Kits,TFP Pool School, PoolMath
    Vogue 21" round AG, Pentair 1 hp 2 speed pump, 36 sq ft DE filter, Hayward S180T 150# sand filter, Houston, Texas
    Love TFP? Become a
    TFP Supporter!

You can and should switch to BBB. It will save you time and money.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 1.5hp Dynamo pump. 24" Pentair Sand Dollar Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit