Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Water test on my fill water

1. Back To Top    #1

Water test on my fill water

Hello all I am new to TFP. Thanks for all the GREAT info. I just got my TF-100 test kit and wanted to run some test on my water so I know what i will be dealing with. The pool hasn't ben set up yet so this came from the tap. here are my results I'm worried about my total alkalinity what do you think etc. I have a SWG just FYI. Any input is apperciated.
    FC - 0
    CC or TC - 0
    pH - 7.2
    TA - 300
    CYA - 0
    AG 18'X52" round Ultra frame Intex 8961 gallons with sand filter and SWG 1600 gph also have TF-100 Test kit

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Water test on my fill water

Pretty much anything can be adjusted after it's filled up except for CYA, so you should be good.. But i'm also new to this so somebody else might want to verify it.
    1970's kidney shaped pool. 23,000 gallons with concrete bottom and fiberglass walls, both painted in 2012 with epoxy paint. Single speed "energy efficient" 1 hp hayward super pump and hayward S-200 sand filter. Main drain leaks, and is thus disconnected. 16 mil ultraclear solar cover. Located in Northern Indiana. TF-100 Test Kit

3. Back To Top    #3

The high TA will make for some minor challenges, but all straightforward enough. You will probably want to stockpile some muriatic acid
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

4. Back To Top    #4

So what should I start with? add the salt and get the chlorine going then worry about the AK? How will I go about lowering the AK? Thanks for the responses
    AG 18'X52" round Ultra frame Intex 8961 gallons with sand filter and SWG 1600 gph also have TF-100 Test kit

5. Back To Top    #5

Quote Originally Posted by heyblmyers