Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Backwashing sand filter

1. Back To Top    #1

Backwashing sand filter

I have an intex pool and purchased an intex sand filter and pump 1600 gph for my 18' foot pool last season. When I backwash the sandfilter, it states in the manual to then switch to the rinse cycle to settle the sand in the filter, or something like that. My question is when I switch to the rinse setting after backwashing, do I do this with the drain cap on or off. The manual doesn't specify if need to put the drain cap on after backwashing or after rinsing prior to switching back to filter mode. I'm new to this, and need clarification.
    ------------------------------
    24x33 gunite-plaster pool, 16,000 gallons, Filter Pentair FNS 60DE, Pentair Intelliflo HP2.0 pump, IntelliChlor SWG, 2 skimmers, 4 Pentair main drains, 5 returns inlets
    Houston, TX

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Backwashing sand filter

You leave it off when rinsing. Rinse runs water the normal direction through the sand but sends it out the waste port, so you don't get a slug of dirty water in the pool after backwashing.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

3. Back To Top    #3

Thanks for helping a newbie. Wasn't sure and the manual didn't specify whether to leave the cap on or off.
    ------------------------------
    24x33 gunite-plaster pool, 16,000 gallons, Filter Pentair FNS 60DE, Pentair Intelliflo HP2.0 pump, IntelliChlor SWG, 2 skimmers, 4 Pentair main drains, 5 returns inlets
    Houston, TX

4. Back To Top    #4

You are welcome.

And welcome to TFP. Stick around, take your shoes off, sit a while.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump

5. Back To Top    #5