Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: whats the pantyhose trick?

1. Back To Top    #1

whats the pantyhose trick?

I was reading one of the sticky's and was trying to figure out what the pantyhose trick was on the skimmer? Do I just pull the p.hose around the square part that attaches to my pool wall?

Oh and Im new to pools and have an AG. I have a sand filter. I backwashed the stinky thing out and seems to filter ok. The pressure gage doesnt move or anything tho. How do I know if theres sand in there, enough of it? I just purchased the house with the ugly green swamp and got most of the leave out by scooping.
    AG Round Bestway EZ set 15' x 42"--3284 Gallons--Jaccuzi Lasor Sand Filter Model 160L, 16" diameter --- Pump Pentair Aquatools PMP 1HP
    P/N: AT2408610

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: whats the pantyhose trick?

You put the pantyhose (knee highs) in your skimmer basket and around the the top of the basket to catch finer particles.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

In the Industry

I am pretty sure people put them on the skimmer basket. They work just like a skimmer sock, but are cheaper
    EDIT: Jason beat me to it!

Normally your pressure should change (at least a little) after backwashing. If it is not moving at all..is it stuck at 0? Or at a different number? It is not uncommon for pool owners to replace the pressure gauge every season or two.

4. Back To Top    #4

Its not stuck on 0. But it doesnt move if I turn the pump on or off. There looks like there was a glass or plastice cover thing over the face but its missing so I can just move the meter to what ever I want it on :P