Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Water is filled with Foam after putting algacide

1. Back To Top    #1

Water is filled with Foam after putting algacide

I am new to pool maintenance. Recently my SWG broke. For a week I did not pay much attention to the pool so my pool had black spots and green algae. so to get rid of the black algae we went to the pool shop and got black algae killer and we tried to shock the pool and kept brushing it regularly. This worked and we were able to get rid of black algae. I think shocking the pool and regular brushing it helped us remove the black algae.

Unfortunately I put algaecide from lowes (HTH) and I think i put too much of it without reading the instructions and now my pool is all foamy and its been 2 days the foam is not reducing. I got my SWG fixed and now i am wondering how do i get rid of the foamy water. I have 15K pool. I was supposed to put 6 ounces and I put 20 i think.

If I had joined this forum a couple of weeks ago I am sure I wouldn't have purchased algaecide from lowes... Now that I did i was looking for help to defoam my pool

Thanks for your time.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Water is filled with Foam after putting algacide

It should break down over time or you can manually net it out to speed up the process.
    18'x48" AG
    Pentair 1 1/2 HP Dynamo Pump
    Sand Dollar Sand Filter w/ Zeobrite
    Lil Shark Vacuum System
    Hard Plumbed

3. Back To Top    #3

mpacheco72 is right on the money, it will just take time to break down, it will probably take several days.
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

4. Back To Top    #4