Very new to pool thing, need help!!

May 1, 2012
Hi! I am new to pools, bought a house in the winter with a pool that I know has not been opened for at least 2 years. We opened it 2 weeks ago and have been shocking it. It started out with a lot of gunk in the bottom that we fished out and very dark green. Now it is light green, can see about 4 inches down into the water, can definitely see the bottom of the pool steps, running our filter 24/7 but it is not getting any better from the light green. I have brushed the sides and bottom as best I can. The pool is about 8 foot to 10 foot (not sure) at the deepest and I can't get that real well. Just tested and these are the results:

Total hardness is 250
total chlorine is 5
free chlorine is 10
pH is 6.2
total alkalinity is 40
cyanuric acid is 0

1. don't know how many gallons water - pool is 40 x 20 and from 3 feet to 8-10 feet deep
2. sand filter, don't know size - it looks big to me!
3. IG
4. Vinyl
5. Don't know.

Can someone tell me where to go from here? I have ONLY put in liquid chlorine at this point and nothing else. Thanks!

Chimchim66
West Michigan

Are those tests your own or did someone do them for you. Confirm that first and then, spend a lot of time up in Pool School....start reading ABC's of Pool Water Chemistry.

Your testing eventually will have to be more accurate and complete before we can help much but let us know how you are testing and we'll get started.

:wave: Hey Chimchim66, welcome to TFP!

As the post above states, some of those results look suspicious. Did you do the testing yourself? If so, what kit are you using? If you got your results from a pool store..you should look into getting your own test kit. I highly recommend the TF-100 from tftestkits.net

As for 'shocking,' you cannot really effectively shock your pool without knowing the size of pool (and without accurate test results)

Based on your dimensions, I came up with about 30K gallons (I used 5' as average depth).