Confused

Did my 1st tests with TF100 last night.

13200 gal
    FC 2.5
    PH 7.8
    TA 130
    CH250
    CYA 50

I wanted to go up to 8 FC, Pool Calculater said add 151oz of 6% bleach. I added whole 182oz of Wal-Mart 6% bleach. Tests now are

FC 14
    PH 7.8
    CYA 50
    CC was 0 on both tests.

Why did it raise the FC so much?? Great website and forum, BTW. Pool was installed in November so I'm still learning
    14x28 13,200 gal IG Vinyl
    Pentair SD60 60gpm
    Pentair SuperFlo 3/4hp
    2 Aqua Genie Skimmers
    TF100

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Confused

Welcome to TFP!

There are several ways that could happen. The most likely is you entered the the wrong size for your pool, larger than it actually is, into the Pool Calculator.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

In the Industry

Welcome to the forum. Well, you used the calculator correctly, I think. How sure are you on the size of your pool?
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

4. Back To Top    #4

It's 14x28 in ground vinyl. Installer said it was 13,200 gallons
    Pentair SD60 60gpm
    Pentair SuperFlo 3/4hp
    2 Aqua Genie Skimmers
    TF100

5. Back To Top    #5

In the Industry

Well, that sounds about right, also. The next best guess is if you are new to the test kit, a testing error is a common issue. review the steps....did you multiply X.5 to get the answer?
    Dave S.

6. Back To Top    #6

It was 28 drops. The test was taken 2.5 hrs later. Pump is running 24-7 til I get a timer this weekend. I'll test again tomorrow when I get off work
    Pentair SD60 60gpm
    Pentair SuperFlo 3/4hp
    2 Aqua Genie Skimmers
    TF100

7. Back To Top    #7

Welcome to tfp, darylfoot