Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: New pump is 'clicking' - what did I do?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    New pump is 'clicking' - what did I do?

    I installed a new motor today. However, it keeps going into a 'clicking' in which the speed keeps changing and the motor doesn't run smoothly. I'm assuming it is not supposed to do this. Is there something I did wrong? Could this be a wiring issue? Something else?
    Pool details:

    18x36 Vinyl In-Ground pool
    25,000-30,000 gallons (estimate, will know more when I can get in and get an average depth)
    DE filter
    Pump info unknown - I'll get that soon!

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: New pump is 'clicking' - what did I do?

    We are going to need more info ... like the type of pump to have any hope of offering a suggestion.
    Is is single speed? 2-speed? variable speed?
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Re: New pump is 'clicking' - what did I do?

    Quote Originally Posted by jblizzle
    We are going to need more info ... like the type of pump to have any hope of offering a suggestion.
    Is is single speed? 2-speed? variable speed?
    It's a single-speed 1hp high efficiency pump. This one to be exact...

    http://www.inyopools.com/Products/00200017057203.htm

    I did my best - but I'm not strong with electrics, and (since I went with the high efficiency motor) the wiring set-up was different.
    Pool details:

    18x36 Vinyl In-Ground pool
    25,000-30,000 gallons (estimate, will know more when I can get in and get an average depth)
    DE filter
    Pump info unknown - I'll get that soon!

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: New pump is 'clicking' - what did I do?

    I guess it could be a wiring issue. Was your old pump 120 or 240V? What were you wiring this one for ... could be either 120 or 240?

    I do not think the "high efficiency" has anything to do with how it is wired.

    Can you post a picture of the wiring on it currently?
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Re: New pump is 'clicking' - what did I do?

    Quote Originally Posted by jblizzle
    I guess it could be a wiring issue. Was your old pump 120 or 240V? What were you wiring this one for ... could be either 120 or 240?

    I do not think the "high efficiency" has anything to do with how it is wired.

    Can you post a picture of the wiring on it currently?
    I think this is the issue. This new one has a switch for 115 or 230. I don't know how to tell whether I have 115 or 230 there, but I switched it over to 115 - and it worked perfectly. Sound right? Is there any way to confirm?
    Pool details:

    18x36 Vinyl In-Ground pool
    25,000-30,000 gallons (estimate, will know more when I can get in and get an average depth)
    DE filter
    Pump info unknown - I'll get that soon!

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: New pump is 'clicking' - what did I do?

    There is likely a wiring diagram near the electrical connections. If you want someone to check your work, post a few good pictures of the setup.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,333

    Re: New pump is 'clicking' - what did I do?

    When I read the issue, my first thought was that you had it set to operate on 230 volts but your power feed was 115 volt. Sounds like my first impression was correct.

    Look at the breaker for the pump and if it's a single breaker then it's 115 volt. If it's two handles tied together or a double wide breaker then it's 230 volt.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Re: New pump is 'clicking' - what did I do?

    Quote Originally Posted by Bama Rambler
    When I read the issue, my first thought was that you had it set to operate on 230 volts but your power feed was 115 volt. Sounds like my first impression was correct.

    Look at the breaker for the pump and if it's a single breaker then it's 115 volt. If it's two handles tied together or a double wide breaker then it's 230 volt.
    Thanks Bama - I thought I remembered that the single/double breaker was the way to tell the difference, but I couldn't find a way to confirm that. It is a single breaker, and it runs beautifully now that I have it set to 115v.

    Thanks for all the help, everyone - tonight it's on to testing and treatment!
    Pool details:

    18x36 Vinyl In-Ground pool
    25,000-30,000 gallons (estimate, will know more when I can get in and get an average depth)
    DE filter
    Pump info unknown - I'll get that soon!

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Re: New pump is 'clicking' - what did I do?

    Ok...

    The pump is running and all was working well. However, when I added DE to the skimmer the PSI jumped from 10 to 15 in a couple minutes then from 15 to 25 within the next 30 minutes. Now the pump is running but there is no pressure to the water coming back through the returns.

    Am I doing something wrong? Is the lack of pressure in the returns a reflection of a clogged up filter? Did the pressure increase so quickly because of how dirty the pool is? Do I just need to keep cleaning the filter frequently until the pool gets cleaned up?
    Pool details:

    18x36 Vinyl In-Ground pool
    25,000-30,000 gallons (estimate, will know more when I can get in and get an average depth)
    DE filter
    Pump info unknown - I'll get that soon!

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Ohm_Boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    1,344

    Re: New pump is 'clicking' - what did I do?

    Adding DE to the filter does 'clog' it somewhat, which is why it is recommended to add only enough to increase the pressure about 1 psi, and not when there is a lot of debris in the water. By adding DE, you make the filtration finer, which will catch finer particles and clog more, which closes more pores in the filtration media, which catches more particulate, which... etc. etc.
    Backwashing will clear it. You should in general backwash the filter when you see somewhere around a 10psi increase in pressure.
    [center:1kpalu48]Helpful Links: Pool School | CYA/Chlorine Chart | Pool Calculator[/center:1kpalu48]

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Re: New pump is 'clicking' - what did I do?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ohm_Boy
    Adding DE to the filter does 'clog' it somewhat, which is why it is recommended to add only enough to increase the pressure about 1 psi, and not when there is a lot of debris in the water. By adding DE, you make the filtration finer, which will catch finer particles and clog more, which closes more pores in the filtration media, which catches more particulate, which... etc. etc.
    Backwashing will clear it. You should in general backwash the filter when you see somewhere around a 10psi increase in pressure.
    Wow - the stuff I don't know!!

    So, does this mean I should be running without adding DE until I get the pool fairly cleaned out? Perhaps I should clean it and start over without DE?
    Pool details:

    18x36 Vinyl In-Ground pool
    25,000-30,000 gallons (estimate, will know more when I can get in and get an average depth)
    DE filter
    Pump info unknown - I'll get that soon!

  12. Back To Top    #12
    Ohm_Boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    1,344

    Re: New pump is 'clicking' - what did I do?

    Let me correct my earlier post. I erroneously thought you had a sand filter. I was wrong.
    You need DE in your filter - it's a DE filter. Just make sure you get the correct amount for your filter and don't overfill it. But don't operate it without DE.

    I apologize for any confusion I may have caused.
    [center:1kpalu48]Helpful Links: Pool School | CYA/Chlorine Chart | Pool Calculator[/center:1kpalu48]

  13. Back To Top    #13
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,333

    Re: New pump is 'clicking' - what did I do?

    If your pool isn't clear then a DE filter can clog up in a matter of a few minutes in a worse case scenario. You'll just have to keep cleaning and recharging it until you get it mostly clear. It's aggravating but it's worth it in the end.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •