Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Skimmer diverter closes suddenly

1. Back To Top    #1

Skimmer diverter closes suddenly

So I'm brand new to pools and just bought a house with a pool. I am trying my best to maintain it but sometimes the skimmer diverter stops allowing water to come through the skimmer. I have it set with the bottom almost completly open and initially it works. After a few hours I've been going back outside and no water is coming through the skimmer. I have to remove the diverter and play around with it for water to start coming through the skimmer.. Anyone know why this might be happening? Do I have to have the diverter on? There are two holes underneath the diverter if that means anything. Thanks!

2. Back To Top    #2
    Pleasanton, CA

Re: Skimmer diverter closes suddenly

I would recommend not using the diverter at all. The only thing they do is reduce flow and you really want maximum flow. You can unscrew the diverter from the float valve and still use the float valve if you want to or just remove the entire float assembly. The float protects the pump when the water level gets too low and it also helps to pull more water from the main drain although that is not always necessary.
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump and Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, 1/2 HP 2sp pump, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater, ThePoolCleaner

3. Back To Top    #3

wow thanks for the quick reply.. i am taking the diverter out now.. also i just added a few cups of pool perfect + phosfree, how soon can i swim after?

4. Back To Top    #4
    Silver Spring, MD