Black algae... I HATE black algae!

Apr 8, 2012
Ok folks, after a winter of little or no maintenance my black algea seems like it is winning the battle! I have a plaster pool that needs refinishing and I unfortunately do not have the funds required to do the refinish. I have been fighting a war against this black algae for a few years now... :grrrr:

In the past, the battle was mainly on the walls. I have won a few battles by sprinkling trichlor right on the walls with the equipment off. (So that the powder would get attached to the algae) I think I purchased a 50 lbs bucket of trichlor pucks and crushed them down, putting the whole bucketfull inthe pool. (Overkill perhaps but the battle was won! Now it seems to have also spread to the bottom.

SO, the first thing that I am trying to obtain trichlor powder in bulk. Anyone know where I could find that?

Secondly, I am open to any and all suggestions.

Thank you very much!

The pool is 20' X 40', 6' deep in the middle and perhaps 4' on each end (V shape bottom), I therefore estimate it to contain 25 000 gallons.

The PH is presently low.

I have a sand filter.

I was wondering if I should try to brush it with a S-S brush or better to leave it there and nuke it with trichlor, and then brush it?

Should I run the pump continuously or leave it off after I nuke it and/or brush it?

PLEASE HELP!!!

duraleigh said:
My first inclination is to believe your CYA is w-a-a-ay too high.

Can you post test results so we can help you get started?

All I can test myself now are the basic stuff of PH and Chlorine levels.

PH is about 7.2
Chlorine looke like between 2 and 4 (ppm?) (In the middle of the chart on the tester...)

I will be able to get it more thoroughly tested at the pool store on Tuesday.

Thanks.

Until you can test the CYA, it is just guesswork to suggest how to proceed.

pH is just fine @ 7.2

Make sure the pool store tests for CYA, CH, and TA. Might as well have them retest your pH and FC, too.