Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: White clouds forms on pool top when first turning system on

1. Back To Top    #1

White clouds forms on pool top when first turning system on

Hello everyone:
    I live in the Kansas city area, I'm totally new to the pool world. Just bought a house with pool built in 2006. It is a salt water system, with a Pentair IC 40 cell, 500 gallon filter, and 2 hp single speed whisper flow pump.
    The pool was closed and covered with mesh cover for the last two years...

Of course you can imagine how bad the water was inside when we opened it last week....it took some nice effort cleaning, backwashing, vacuuming, and adding chemicals....the water steed cloudy so my pool service lady suggested adding "flock" to it and added "enzyme"...... Wihin 24 hours, the pool got clear, she vacuumed it and I could see the bottom clearly with crystal clear water......

The problem I noticed is that when I turn on my system, the water flows fine through the jets, and within few minutes (time for swg to see the salt and start working), milky white water come out of my jets for a couple of minutes enough turgid my water and form a white cloud on top of my pool.......it takes about 30 minutes and the pool is crystal clear again!!!!
    the pool lady told me it could be the swg cell going bad but chlorine level is fine, and it only does it when the system is started
    I cleaned my swg cell with 4 parts water 1 part muratic acid. Took water sample to the pool store and my chemistry is fine including chlorine, (so I know the swg is working)
    I am including a picture of the cloud......
    Thank you for reading so far and for any help.....sorry I rambled a lot but wanted to make sure I included as much info as possible
    23k gallon in ground Vinyl liner. With attached spa. Pentair ic40 swg, 2 hp whisper flow single speed pump, 500 gallon pentair sand filter.

2. Back To Top    #2