Become a TFP Supporter Welcome to our new server and new forum software. Pool School
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Am I not using enough chlorine?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Cowden, IL
    Posts
    15

    Am I not using enough chlorine?

    We opened our pool to a green swamp
    My first reading was
    FC-0
    pH-8.2
    CYA- less than 20

    I added the muric acid, got the pH down to proper levels.
    Added stabilizer/conditioner to bring up the CYA
    Brought the FC up to 10 (according to the CYA/Chlorine calc.)
    It took 20 minutes and the pool was a cloudy blue, but the green was gone!
    It's been getting slightly better every day, and I'm brushing like crazy. The walls still have green algae on them, I can now see this as the water gets more clear, and the whole outside rim of the pof the pool and cove are covered in green algae.
    This has been going on for 8 days.
    My question is, should I increase the FC level to more than 10, or just keep on keeping on?

    Thanks in Advance!
    13K Gal, AG (buried in-ground) pool, Pentair SD40 19" Sand Filter, 1.5 hp Dynamo pump

  2. #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    22,267

    Re: Am I not using enough chlorine?

    How much CYA did you add? What were you targeting?

    You should shock to the level that you expect the CYA to rise too. FC @ 10 was correct for CYA of 20, but if you added alot, then you may need to go higher based on the chart.

    How often are you testing your FC and raising it back to shock level?

    And is your pump/filter running 24/7? Cleaning when required?
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, Dolphin Diagnostic Robotic Cleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Gone: Hayward RS1500 pump, undersized DIY solar heater, Dolphin Dynamic Robotic Cleaner
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. #3
    Mod Squad JohnT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SW Indiana
    Posts
    7,694

    Re: Am I not using enough chlorine?

    You most likely need more chlorine. What is your CYA now?

    Are you maintaining 10ppm at all times, or is it dropping between tests?

    Edit: Too slow but my questions are slightly different so I posted anyway.
    TFP Moderator
    20K Gallon 20X36 Vinyl Inground
    Hayward S244T Sand Filter with 1HP Whisperflo Pump. Liquidator C-201 and Solar Heat

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Cowden, IL
    Posts
    15

    Re: Am I not using enough chlorine?

    I added enough to bring the CYA to 40 (40 has worked great in the past), It's just now reading 30.
    The pump is running 24/7.
    I've been checking it 4 times a day, it ends up dropping at least twice between those 4 checks.
    13K Gal, AG (buried in-ground) pool, Pentair SD40 19" Sand Filter, 1.5 hp Dynamo pump

  5. #5
    Mod Squad Butterfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    10,685

    Re: Am I not using enough chlorine?

    About 24 hours after the CYA has dissolved, assume it is there and increase your shock level accordingly.

    IOW, if you added enough CYA to reach 40, your shock level should be about 16.
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.

    ~ One should not use a sledge hammer to swat a mosquito. ~

    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Cowden, IL
    Posts
    15

    Re: Am I not using enough chlorine?

    Thanks all, I've been keeping the FC at 16 since the 29th. The water is sparkling clear, but there's still algae on the bottom, and some on the walls. We leave for vacation on the 10th, I'm hoping to have it cleared up before then so the ppl taking care of our pool don't have to mess with brushing it while we're gone.
    13K Gal, AG (buried in-ground) pool, Pentair SD40 19" Sand Filter, 1.5 hp Dynamo pump

  7. #7
    Senior Member In the Industry

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    21,748

    Re: Am I not using enough chlorine?

    If you can see it on the floor and walls, brush it up or vacuum it up to get it either filtered out or vacuumed out. With crystal clear water, it is probably dead algae but it needs to be mechanically removed through filtering or vacuuming. Keep your FC at shock value while you are doing this.
    Dave S.
    Site Owner 42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter, No SWG
    TFTestkits owner
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Cowden, IL
    Posts
    15

    Re: Am I not using enough chlorine?

    It doesn't seem to budge when brushed or vacuumed. Is it possible for algea to stain?
    13K Gal, AG (buried in-ground) pool, Pentair SD40 19" Sand Filter, 1.5 hp Dynamo pump

  9. #9
    Administrator JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    34,659

    Re: Am I not using enough chlorine?

    Yes, algae can leave behind organic stains. Organic stains will fade over time, slowly at normal FC levels, more quickly at high FC levels.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    TFP Admin. Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •