Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Pool neglected for two years, what now?

1. Back To Top    #1

Pool neglected for two years, what now?

Long story short, the tenets living in my house neglected the pool. It's since been uncovered for two years, and has a bunch of **** in it. Last summer there was frogs living in it too. I'm sure there's probably a few neighborhood cats in there as well. It looks like a lagoon. I really want to clean this but I CANNOT spend that much money on it. I DO know that I definitely need to purchase chlorine though. I'm brand new at this, never worked on a pool before. It looks like everything else for the pool (chemicals, vaccuum, etc are all here. There's a big filter on the side of the house. I don't want to turn it on untill I know what I'm doing. I can take pictures if needed. By the way, this is an in-ground pool. APPOX 40 feet long by 15 wide.
    Pool cleaning service for Coral springs and all of broward. wet world aquatics Using science to give your pool and aquarium the best year ever.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Pool neglected for two years, what now?

Pictures are always helpful if you can take them. Just make sure to read up in pool school (upper right hand corner click on pool school) and to do it right you will need a high quality test kit. Look in my signature for the link to the TF100 kit.

Good luck and you have come to the right place.
    13,000 Plaster IG Pool approx
    Hayward C5030 Cart Filter
    Emerson 1081 EB653 1.0 HP 1.40 S.F. 3450 RPM
    Pool Calculator, Pool School, TF Test Kits

3. Back To Top    #3

Mynewpool covered the starting point.

But let me reiterate: you will need a test kit. It will pay for itself many times over. Just bite the bullet, order a TF100 and get the XL option since you'll be cleaning a swamp.

Some Inspiration. Swamp to Swim in 12 days
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.