Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 30

Thread: Replacing pump

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Replacing pump

    I have an old pool that has a single speed 2HP pentair whisperflo. I'm thinking on replacing that with a variable speed pump that I can run at low speed for 16-20hrs. The old pump burn 2KW. I'm wondering how difficult it is to swap out the pump.
    I'm handy with electrical and somewhat plumbing. I recon, this is what I'll do:

    (1) turn off power to panel
    (2) disconnect electrical connections to old pump
    (3) cut off pipes to pump. and remove pump
    (4) install new unions on new pump. Use teflon tape. anything else?
    (5) position new pump
    (6) connect electrical to new pump.
    (7) reconnect pipes to new pump with new pipes as needed. What kind of dope should be used?
    (8) prime pump.
    (9) startup pump.

    I'm thinking of the hayward ecostar. I like the idea I can relocate the control panel. Please help me with tips/tricks etc...

    thanks

    C Lee
    In the pool business and finally succumbed to building a pool....

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Replacing pump

    Welcome

    If you just want to run on low speed, why not just replace with a 2-speed whisperflo? For that mater you may be able to just replace the motor and use the same pump for 1/3 of the price of the Variable pumps.

    Trying to take advantage of a rebate on the variable pump?

    I am currently learning about this stuff as well, so someone more knowledgeable will be along shortly I am sure.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Moberly,MO
    Posts
    978

    Re: Replacing pump

    Easiest way is to replace with a 2 spd whisper flo. Unless you want a programmable then go with intelliflo. These will require no plumbing changes just swap wet ends and motor.
    Over 30 years in the pool business
    We build vinyl, fiberglass, stainless steel pools
    Certified in Hydraulics

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: Replacing pump

    Yes, there's a $200 rebate from power co. If I use a two-speed I need to add another clock. Additionally, I want more programmability and and remote controller that I can put it somewhere more accessible. The hayward has that feature included.
    In the pool business and finally succumbed to building a pool....

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Replacing pump

    Another clock or just use a switch to pick high/low speed. From your initial post it just sounded like you wanted to run on low speed.

    Be aware that depending on your electricity rates, it may take a long time to break even on the cost of the variable speed. Also note that to get the rebate usually you have to buy locally and have it installed. With only a $200 rebate, you can likely find the pump online for way more savings if you can install it yourself.

    Ultimately, I would guess adding another clock and getting the 2 speed motor only is probably cheaper if you just want to have a simple control of high and low speed. If you want more control, then maybe the variable makes more sense if you are willing to spend the money.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  6. Back To Top    #6

    In the Industry


    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    728

    Re: Replacing pump

    Hey H2Ocare, welcome to TFP!

    What other equipment do you have? And what brand? If you have all Pentair equipment, I would strongly recommend staying with Pentair (Intelliflo) for your new pump. This is especially important if you have (or want to add) automation. A Pentair pump can 'talk' to a Pentair automation system.

    Also, that Hayward pump is quite a bit larger than the Pentair. How much room do you have on your equipment pad?

    Lastly, I agree with jblauert that you will find the pump cheapest looking online. Check rebate details about installation requirements/eligibility!

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Re: Replacing pump

    blakej, everything else is old. There's room behind the current motor if the hayward is longer. I don't have any automation system. So there's no reason to stay with pentair. The rebate allows for owner install. So that's not an issue. Just wonder if it's something I can do over a weekend.
    In the pool business and finally succumbed to building a pool....

  8. Back To Top    #8

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Moberly,MO
    Posts
    978

    Re: Replacing pump

    If you have all your plumbing fittings on hand a couple hours should cover it. Although as I said before the whisperflo and intelliflo are interchangable so you wouldn't have any plumbing to do. Just unbolt 6 bolts on each pump housing switch them and put 6 bolts back in and do electric your done.
    Over 30 years in the pool business
    We build vinyl, fiberglass, stainless steel pools
    Certified in Hydraulics

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Replacing pump

    Quote Originally Posted by H2Ocare
    blakej, everything else is old. There's room behind the current motor if the hayward is longer. I don't have any automation system. So there's no reason to stay with pentair. The rebate allows for owner install. So that's not an issue. Just wonder if it's something I can do over a weekend.
    I think the Hayward is also wider and maybe taller. So if it fits it should be do-able in less than a weekend following your plan.

    Good that the rebate allows owner install, do you have to buy from a local shop? Have you priced them locally?
    Still may be able to save more the $200 buying online and forgetting about the rebate.

    Do you plan for any other upgrades/automation in the future? Just can't help but think the Ecostar may be overkill and a cheaper option may work ... just trying to open your eyes to other options so you are not blinded by the "rebate".

    Good luck with whatever you decide and we are here to help with any issues that may come up.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  10. Back To Top    #10

    In the Industry


    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    728

    Re: Replacing pump

    I agree with jblauert above. I prefer Pentair over Hayward because of price AND (probably more importantly) customer service.

    One thing about a self-install is it often compromises the pump warranty. I am all about DIY for that sort of thing, but wanted to make sure you know the details!

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Re: Replacing pump

    jblauert, The utility co does not restrict where I buy it from. So on-line is fine.
    I do plan on upgrading equipment peicemeal later. I thought I'll start with the pump as it saves money on boot.
    They I'll add an automatic pool cleaner. Get my son to maintain the pool. add some automation, valves etc... meanwhile the hayward's panel can be remotely mounted is a plus.

    Yes, the dimension is about 1/2" wider and about 1" longer. The height of the inlet port is about the same.
    In the pool business and finally succumbed to building a pool....

  12. Back To Top    #12
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Replacing pump

    That is awesome that you can buy online and get the rebate

    The rebates I have seen in AZ do not allow this.

    Sounds like you have thought this through and have a plan. With the experience listed, you should be able to hook it up in less than a day following your plan.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Re: Replacing pump

    More questions:
    Do I need any kind of high temp gasket sealant on the union thread?
    Does the base need to be bolted down to the pad? If so it the base similar between the pentair and hayward?
    In the pool business and finally succumbed to building a pool....

  14. Back To Top    #14
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Replacing pump

    Quote Originally Posted by H2Ocare
    More questions:
    Do I need any kind of high temp gasket sealant on the union thread?
    Does the base need to be bolted down to the pad? If so it the base similar between the pentair and hayward?
    The Hayward has an actual union fitting, so there is an o-ring to form the seal ... no sealant required.

    Not sure about the requirement to bolt the motor down ... mine have not been. The bases look quite different between the Pentair and Hayward, but not exactly sure what you are really asking.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Re: Replacing pump

    So just teflon tape on the union thread is enough. thanks.
    If it's not bolted down then it doesn't matter if the base are dissimilar.

    Great help from everyone.
    In the pool business and finally succumbed to building a pool....

  16. Back To Top    #16
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Replacing pump

    I do not even think Teflon tape is needed ... unless you are using it to just reduce friction for tightening the union.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  17. Back To Top    #17

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    340

    Re: Replacing pump

    If you are using an ecostar, no Teflon needed. It's has some pretty beefy unions with gaskets. Teflon would be an unnecessary hassle/waste.

    I will echo the others' thoughts on the intelliflo/intellipro. I like them better and almost exclusively install them unless automation compatibility or customer requests points me in another direction. Yes, you can remote mount the pad on ecostar, but once you program and tweak it, you won't be messing with it very much and you'll be giving the squirrels something else to chew on. The Pentair pumps are IMO easier to program/tweak and I have seen lots of issues with ecostar(supposedly fixed) whereas only a couple isolated issues with Pentair.
    25K aggregate IG, Intellipro, FNS48, Polaris 360, PG2000 fiber optic light source

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Re: Replacing pump

    After additional thoughts, I think I'll go the pentair route.

    I think I'll get the pentair VS 11018. If I can just keep the wet end and just swap out the dry end. Then everything is done.
    I can get a intellitouch controller later for future enhacements?

    any comments/advice. This forum is great.
    In the pool business and finally succumbed to building a pool....

  19. Back To Top    #19

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Moberly,MO
    Posts
    978

    Re: Replacing pump

    That is the route I would go for ease of swap. But that is just me frees me up for other things.
    Over 30 years in the pool business
    We build vinyl, fiberglass, stainless steel pools
    Certified in Hydraulics

  20. Back To Top    #20
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    11,490

    Re: Replacing pump

    Just make sure you swap the impeller and diffusor as well. The housing is the only thing you can use from the old pump.
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, MaxFlo SP2303VSP, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •