Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Rust?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    25

    Rust?

    Hey guys!

    So I decided to "open" (I never closed it) our pool for the season and have been checking components, cleaning, testing, etc. But I've noticed there's what appears to be "rust migration" coming from the lights. Any ideas what it is? Note the very visible trail at the bottom, but also the slight trail moving up on the top right. The pool light has more migration towards the top without the "leakage" on the bottom...



    My current chem levels are as follows:
    CL: 6
    pH: 7.2 (I've been trying to lower TA from 120)
    TA: 100 (hope it stays)
    CYA: 40
    CH: 450 (I finally got my CYA where I wanted, so I'm reluctant to remove water, for now...)

    Any feedback is appreciated. Thanks!
    IG plaster; 32x16x3-5 ft. w overflow spa; ~15k gals; 2 hp Pentair pump; 120 gpm Pentair DE filter; Pentair heater

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Re: Rust?

    There's likely to be something rusting in the light niche. You can pull the light out of the niche and take a look. The light is a sealed unit with enough cord to allow the light to be lifted onto the deck. Don't pull too hard on the cord. Removing the light from the niche should be easy, but there can be complications if the screw is stuck, or if the plaster is not done correctly.

    Sometimes, getting the light out and back in ends up being a problem. Therefore, you have to decide if it's worth messing with.

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Denton, TX
    Posts
    5,061

    Re: Rust?

    May be something as simple as a non-stainless steel screw being used to secure the light in the niche.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    25

    Re: Rust?

    Thanks. I'll ask the pool contractor to take a look (still under warranty). I just didn't want to hear "it's mustard algea" from him.
    IG plaster; 32x16x3-5 ft. w overflow spa; ~15k gals; 2 hp Pentair pump; 120 gpm Pentair DE filter; Pentair heater

  5. Back To Top    #5

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    London and France
    Posts
    574

    Re: Rust?

    Quote Originally Posted by 257WbyMag
    May be something as simple as a non-stainless steel screw being used to secure the light in the niche.
    Ha, simple.......to remove

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    25

    Re: Rust?

    I checked with the contractor. He mentioned this stain is not rust, but rather is caused by the lubricant used while pulling electrical cable during the build-out. Contractor did agree to "fix". However, I'm curious if this makes sense or if anyone else has seen this caused by a lubricant, at least in a pool anyway
    IG plaster; 32x16x3-5 ft. w overflow spa; ~15k gals; 2 hp Pentair pump; 120 gpm Pentair DE filter; Pentair heater

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Re: Rust?

    I suppose that it's possible. However, I haven't seen lubricant make such a stain, but most people don't use lubricant.

  8. Back To Top    #8

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Ashford, CT
    Posts
    346

    Re: Rust?

    Its rust- you can see it. He just did not use a Stainless Steel Screw to attach the light.

    Wire pull is clear, and is water soluble. You can get blue for special purposes, but again it's water soluble.

    Just agree with him and most likely it's an easy fix. Remove and clean the area with a pumice stone or wand type stain remover,
    put light back in with correct SS screw. 15 min fix. Max. It would however be easier if you pumped the spa wveater into the pool before the repair so you would not have to wade or go under water - then when done pump it back into the spa. If you can't easily do it with your valves use a cheap sump pump with a hose attached.

    Just dont turn the lights on with no water - or you will fry your light.

    My guess is one of his workers lost the screw and used a drywall screw of something.

    Seen it done a couple of times before.
    25k 20x40 Gunite w/ integrated Spa & Caribbean Blue Plaster, Curved Bluestone Coping, Deck Jets
    Pentair Easy Touch/Wireless, Sta-Rite Intellipro SRVS Pump, Intellibrite Lights, & Pentair IC40 Cell, Sta-Rite 450sf Cartridge filter
    Heated from Central Boiler - Outdoor Wood Furnace & Triangle Tube Max Heat Exchanger
    ColorQ Pro
    TF-100

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    25

    Re: Rust?

    Thanks. I can drain spa to pool (easy to do w my valves). I'll see what I find in there.
    IG plaster; 32x16x3-5 ft. w overflow spa; ~15k gals; 2 hp Pentair pump; 120 gpm Pentair DE filter; Pentair heater

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    25

    Re: Rust?

    I checked this out, and it doesn't appear to be rust. Check out the pics:




    What is this?
    IG plaster; 32x16x3-5 ft. w overflow spa; ~15k gals; 2 hp Pentair pump; 120 gpm Pentair DE filter; Pentair heater

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Re: Rust?

    It kind of looks like rust. I suppose that it could be wire-pulling lubricant. However, if it is lubricant, then it was a poor choice for this application due to the mess it makes.

    Try putting a magnet in the stuff to see if it is rust.

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    25

    Re: Rust?

    It's not rust. Took a magnet to some of the left over debris, and it didn't stick.
    IG plaster; 32x16x3-5 ft. w overflow spa; ~15k gals; 2 hp Pentair pump; 120 gpm Pentair DE filter; Pentair heater

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Re: Rust?

    I really don't know what that is. Perhaps your contractor can provide some answers. Ask him to show you some of the wire-pulling lubricant, including the container that they use.

    You could also open the junction box to see if the other end of the cord is covered in the same stuff.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •