Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: New to Pool Maintenance. Advice needed on Chems, Backwashin

1. Back To Top    #1

New to Pool Maintenance. Advice needed on Chems, Backwashin

I'm a novice at this so I hope someone can kindly help with a few basic questions. Have a large gunite pool with sand filter. I've got the pump running and filtering. Shocked the 40,000 gal pool today with 4 lb of Lowes shock. The faint green is now more blueish though cloudy. So far, so good!

1. Our temp here is about 60 and the water temp is likely more like 50. How long does shock usually last and when to I begin regular chlorinating.

2. This is a vacation house and I live 3 hrs away. Is it ok to let a pump run for a week without backwashing (since that's when I will return). I have a large sand filter and it usually runs at about 18psi. If that's too long I'll just have to turn it off until I return next weekend.

3. I'v never backwashed before. About how long do you run it in backwash, and how long rinse? Am I right that when you back wash you open the valve on the pvc waste pipe at the same time? It's a standard multi-port valve on the filter, and I can't recall if it has a separate setting for backwash and a separate setting for waste.

Many thanks. sorry I know so little, though I'll know a lot more after the first time!

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: New to Pool Maintenance. Advice needed on Chems, Backwa

Have you read Pool School? http://www.troublefreepool.com/pool-school/
    The Pool Calculator shows that you would need 9 lbs 1 oz to shock. http://www.poolcalculator.com/
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/pool-...efeating_algae
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/pool-...king_your_pool
    Not sure if leaving it on that long unattended would be a good idea while clearing algae.
    18' x 42" Intex (4786 Gal @ 80% capacity) Intex 8110 SWCG, 2000 GPH cartridge filter.
    Full Sun, Well Water, Borates at approx. 50