Sta Rite Max-E-Therm 400 LP problems, help please!

finatic

Silver Supporter
Mar 6, 2012
FL
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
Hello,
Newbie here with a completely dead Max-E-Therm 400LP. I searched but could not find the answer to my problem. The heater is about 3 years old and have not had the best luck with it. I have needed to replace the thermal regulator twice, high limit swich, thermistor and the firemans switch fuse! This time the entire unit is dead.

After some troubleshooting with the owner manual I believe I have a bad control board but wanted an experienced opinion before springing the $$$ on a new one!

The control panel is completely dead with no error codes or LED's lighting up even after a power reset.
I confirmed 240V into the heater. The firemans switch (fuse) is OK
I am reading 24+ Volts AC at the board where the harness plugs in from the firemans switch.
Shorting Pins 5-6 on J6 does nothing.

I would really appreciate any help or advice. If other testing might be helpful let me know.
Thanks in advance.

UPDATE: Sta Rite Max-E-Therm 400 LP problems, help please!

I am no longer suspecting the problem is the control board on the heater unit.

The heater and spa pumps, lights, etc. are controlled by a Hayward Goldline Pro Logic PL-P-8 with the main and two remote control pads.

The heater would not come on with inputs from the main control pad or the remote pad in my home. Oddly, the indoor pad is working normally for all other functions except the heater. When the heater button is pressed the display indicates normally "Heater contol auto" but the LED won't light on the remote pad and the heater stays dormant. To my surprise today I was able to get the heater to turn on while using the remote spa side pad only. It will turn on and run for about 5 minute then turn off suddenly with no error codes or sytem lights.