Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Algae help

1. Back To Top    #1

Algae help

I'm kinda new to looking after my pool, and have a few questions, and advice if possible.

I have a salt water pool, got the water tested and all is good, except I've been having alot of algae problems that never seems to go away. It's pretty bad on the bottom and sides, with some black spots too.

From adding super chlorinate, and algae liquid, the pool turned a more cloudy aqua and so after a day I started to brush the pool. From doing this, the water got extremely cloudy and the bottom wasn't visible anymore which had a more dark green colour. This is basically a cycle that never ends.

Considering I have a salt pool, isn't chlorine not recommended by much usage regarding algae control? Also, I've read you should vacuum through the waste and not the filter... How does that work? I usually vacuum, then backwash, rinse, then back to filter.

Sorry for the basic naive questions

Cheers,

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Algaeee help

Welcome to TFP!

To help you, we're going to need test results. Chlorine levels and CYA (stabilizer) for sure.
    TFP Moderator
    20K Gallon 20X36 Vinyl Inground
    Hayward S244T Sand Filter with 1HP Whisperflo Pump. Liquidator C-201 and Solar Heat

3. Back To Top    #3

As John T said, we need test results and it would help if you'd tell us what equipment you have.

A salt pool is a chlorine pool so adding bleach (liquid chlorine) is fine but without test results you're adding blind and will most likely never get your problem solved.

The good news is now that you've found this place you can read and learn how to maintain your pool properly once you get the algae killed and you won't have a roller coaster with the algae.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit