Become a TFP Supporter Welcome to our new server and new forum software. If you have problems logging in to the new system, you should try resetting your password. Click HERE to do that. Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: check salt and check cell lights flashing on Aqua Rite

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    26

    check salt and check cell lights flashing on Aqua Rite

    I am having issues with my Aqua Rite SWG and or my T-15 Hayward salt cell. About 5 days ago I returned home from a business trip and noticed that my pool was beginning to look cloudy and upon inspection I found a light layer of green algae forming on the pool walls, steps, ladder ect. I went to my Aqua Rite box and looked to see what it was reading. When the system came and flow was established, the "check salt" and the "check cell" lights both flashed continuosly. I reset the check cell light by holding down diagnostic button. The check salt never stopped flashing. The salt readout on the digital display was 2300. I caught a water sample and removed my salt cell to have it tested at pool store (Leslies). The salt test showed my level at 3400 and the cell tested out fine with Leslie's saying there was nothing wrong with it. I was told I needed to add 25 pounds of baking soda because alkalinity was off, 45 pounds of hardner, and there was no chlorine in pool so I needed to add 6 pounds of Chloro-Brite to shock it. I also added some type of algae remover/preventer that they sold. It took about 3 days to get everything added and pool cleaned up. I scrubbed/brushed pool and vacuumed it to remove algae and residue that fell out daily. Once I got chemicals lined out and algae removed I tried to run Aqua Rite system again. I set the switch to super chlorinate and it ran fine last night with no lights flashing. I turned it on manually today to recheck it and once again the check salt and check cell light are back on flashing when you try to run the system in normal mode with dial set at desired chlorine production rate.

    Can anyone shed some light on this? I was sure my cell was bad but now I don't know what to look for. Is the Aqua Rite electrical box gone bad or something. It has power to it and it will display everything it is suppose to. I cannot find the manual for it. It is only 3 years old so can't imagine it would already be gone out. With Leslies saying that the cell is ok, it appears as if the Aqua Rite isn't reading the salt level properly and therefore isn't generating chlorine. I'm not sure exactly what the water temp is right now but I saw on here that the cell wouldn't generate when water temp was below a certain level. I wasn't sure if when this happened that the lights I have flashing would occur? I am new to this salt water system stuff and greatly appreciate any info you can pass on. The company that installed my pool did not explain this system or equipment at all so now I'm having to learn how to troubleshoot it.
    Ed Klein
    My Backyard Setup with Pictures
    Pictures of my Build Process
    27,000 gallons total
    IG plaster pool with waterfall/slide and 10' OD hot tub
    SWCG - Pentair IC-40 with Easytouch 8 automation
    Pentair Intelliflo VS+SVRS filter pump with 150gpm cartridge filter
    Built Summer 2012 - Houston, Texas area

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    New Caney, Texas
    Posts
    414

    Re: check salt and check cell lights flashing on Aqua Rite

    I'm not familar with your system but I'm sure the pros will be along shortly. A search of the forum for (Aqua Rite) turns up several threads. Have a read here while you wait on others to answer:
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/aquar...it=Aqua%20Rite
    18' x 42" Intex (4786 Gal @ 80% capacity) Intex 8110 SWCG, 2000 GPH cartridge filter.
    Full Sun, Well Water, Borates at approx. 50
    TFTestKit-100--The Pool Calculator--Pool School

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    26

    Re: check salt and check cell lights flashing on Aqua Rite

    Thanks for the information George. I really appreciate it.
    Ed Klein
    My Backyard Setup with Pictures
    Pictures of my Build Process
    27,000 gallons total
    IG plaster pool with waterfall/slide and 10' OD hot tub
    SWCG - Pentair IC-40 with Easytouch 8 automation
    Pentair Intelliflo VS+SVRS filter pump with 150gpm cartridge filter
    Built Summer 2012 - Houston, Texas area

  4. #4
    Senior Member Aquatica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Nassau, Bahamas
    Posts
    516

    Re: check salt and check cell lights flashing on Aqua Rite

    for some reason the cell is reading the salt too low and this is why you are getting check salt and no chlorine generated.

    what size cell do you have? is it 3 years old? also do you keep it clean?

    are you running a variable speed pump?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    26

    Re: check salt and check cell lights flashing on Aqua Rite

    T-15 Cell, yes cell is probably 3 1/2 years old, yes cell is clean, not sure on pump.
    Ed Klein
    My Backyard Setup with Pictures
    Pictures of my Build Process
    27,000 gallons total
    IG plaster pool with waterfall/slide and 10' OD hot tub
    SWCG - Pentair IC-40 with Easytouch 8 automation
    Pentair Intelliflo VS+SVRS filter pump with 150gpm cartridge filter
    Built Summer 2012 - Houston, Texas area

  6. #6
    Senior Member Aquatica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Nassau, Bahamas
    Posts
    516

    Re: check salt and check cell lights flashing on Aqua Rite

    Quote Originally Posted by bigD0203
    T-15 Cell, yes cell is probably 3 1/2 years old, yes cell is clean, not sure on pump.
    we found that running a pump low rpm the cell would read lower salt. but you would know if you had a variable speed pump.

    my guess is the cell needs replacement. I don't know how they test the cells but sounds like its the cell on its way out. do you have a spare cell you could swap out and test with? maybe borrow a friends? as warranty is only for 3 years you might as well get a back up cell cause the cell will go anyway one day. I would go with the Compupool T15 replacement. its see through so you can inspect the cell without taking it down and it's cheaper than the Hayward t15 replacement cell.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •