Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How should heat pump show up in intellitouch mgmt w/ solar?

  1. Back To Top    #1
    MattM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    299

    How should heat pump show up in intellitouch mgmt w/ solar?

    When solar and heat pump are connected via serial cables to com ports on intellitouch controller, the two entries "solar" and "heatpumpcom" show up in intellitouch.
    Configuring solar works properly - just enable solar, have all other solar values off, and set the temp thresholds.
    Go into heatpump com menu, enable it...suddenly solar is disabled, and the "solar is heat pump" button is enabled.
    Disabling heatpump com and solar can be re-enabled.
    Enabling heat pump heating only doesn't seem to work -- heat pump only runs when manually activated.
    I'm guessing the heat pump is supposed to show up as a seperate heater option and not heatpumpcom?

    Pool builder doesn't know answer...and the local pentair guy didn't know either...we're bumping up question...either we're missing some simple setting or something else mgmt wise isn't setup right. Cables seem to have been installed as described in manual.
    24K gallon inground gunite/pebble sheen pool, 34'x16' 4-7.5ft deep, 750sq ft solar, pentair ultratemp, intelliflow vs+, ic60, intellichem w/ acid pump, quad de 100, intellibright 5g, intellitouch i5-3s with Screenlogic2, 3" primary piping - 2.5" at equip pad, auto switched deep heating and main returns, automatic safety cover w/ electronic lock and embedded recessed undertrack, sealed stamped concrete deck, dolphin deluxe 5, started up December 2011.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Lershac's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    1,215

    Re: How should heat pump show up in intellitouch mgmt w/ sol

    I would suggest a call to pentair tech support. I had similar question wit my heat pump and gas heater and they were very friendly and walked me through connecting and programming it.
    (DIY):16K Gal 20X30 rectangular IG Gunite, w/spa, CCP 520 filter,2 Pentair VS pumps, 400KBTU Pentair gas heater, Heat Pump for cooling, **update5.25.2013** added an intellichem with acid pump that will control existing SWG. My Build Thread Here

  3. Back To Top    #3
    MattM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    299

    Re: How should heat pump show up in intellitouch mgmt w/ sol

    Good idea.....waiting on pool builder to figure it out takes forever
    Just spoke to pentair tech on the phone:
    Solar is always considered a heat pump even if not setup as one. When using com port cable, an ultratemp heat pump also shows up as a heat pump (no option to present as gas heater). Intellitouch will only allow one heat pump to be configured at a time and the solar takes precedence.
    Solution -- get rid of the com port cable, hook up to the remote relay spade connectors and terminate at intellitouch on the gas heater connectors.
    Not exactly the most user friendly and a little clunky, but should work --- called the pool builder and told him what we need done, he is going to try to come out today.
    24K gallon inground gunite/pebble sheen pool, 34'x16' 4-7.5ft deep, 750sq ft solar, pentair ultratemp, intelliflow vs+, ic60, intellichem w/ acid pump, quad de 100, intellibright 5g, intellitouch i5-3s with Screenlogic2, 3" primary piping - 2.5" at equip pad, auto switched deep heating and main returns, automatic safety cover w/ electronic lock and embedded recessed undertrack, sealed stamped concrete deck, dolphin deluxe 5, started up December 2011.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    441

    Re: How should heat pump show up in intellitouch mgmt w/ sol

    Quote Originally Posted by MattM
    Good idea.....waiting on pool builder to figure it out takes forever
    Just spoke to pentair tech on the phone:
    Solar is always considered a heat pump even if not setup as one. When using com port cable, an ultratemp heat pump also shows up as a heat pump (no option to present as gas heater). Intellitouch will only allow one heat pump to be configured at a time and the solar takes precedence.
    Solution -- get rid of the com port cable, hook up to the remote relay spade connectors and terminate at intellitouch on the gas heater connectors.
    Not exactly the most user friendly and a little clunky, but should work --- called the pool builder and told him what we need done, he is going to try to come out today.
    It's not that clunky. This is how we had to run all heatpumps until pentair released them.
    20X40 30,000 gallon gunite pool

  5. Back To Top    #5

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Posts
    406

    Re: How should heat pump show up in intellitouch mgmt w/ sol

    Sad thing is you cant run them together.
    Unfortunately the only company that has that down is Goldline (and hayward bought them)

    What I do (also have Intellitouch) is have my heatpump control wire on one of my open contacts (aux ?) and just schedule it to run when I want it.
    Just set the temp on the heatpump to your desired temp and when it gets there it will shut off. Works well as the heatpump is usually running 24/7 when I am heating anyway.

  6. Back To Top    #6
    MattM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    299

    Re: How should heat pump show up in intellitouch mgmt w/ sol

    Just got screenlogic2 which has the ability to separate out periods of the daily pump runtime into heating and non heating. It seems to switch intellitouch heat settings fine, and to activate/deactivate the heat pump (tricking it into seeing different temps?) but it doesn't seem to actually ever shutoff the heat pump which means when the pump goes off - we get a low water flow alarm on the unit? Is this what should be happening?
    24K gallon inground gunite/pebble sheen pool, 34'x16' 4-7.5ft deep, 750sq ft solar, pentair ultratemp, intelliflow vs+, ic60, intellichem w/ acid pump, quad de 100, intellibright 5g, intellitouch i5-3s with Screenlogic2, 3" primary piping - 2.5" at equip pad, auto switched deep heating and main returns, automatic safety cover w/ electronic lock and embedded recessed undertrack, sealed stamped concrete deck, dolphin deluxe 5, started up December 2011.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •