Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: IntelliChlor IC20 no LEDs lit

  1. Back To Top    #1

    IntelliChlor IC20 no LEDs lit

    Today I noticed none of the LEDs on my IC20 are lit. They were on about three weeks ago when I last checked it. I am located in Central FLorida and have a 15K gallon in ground pool with standard drains/returns...no built in cleaning system.

    Any ideas of where to start?

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Lershac's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    1,215

    Re: IntelliChlor IC20 no LEDs lit

    Is your system "on" pump running? Do you have any automation? Is the breaker to the cell power supply tripped? Could be alot of things. also check the cable between the cell and the power supply.
    (DIY):16K Gal 20X30 rectangular IG Gunite, w/spa, CCP 520 filter,2 Pentair VS pumps, 400KBTU Pentair gas heater, Heat Pump for cooling, **update5.25.2013** added an intellichem with acid pump that will control existing SWG. My Build Thread Here

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Re: IntelliChlor IC20 no LEDs lit

    The pump is running and the breaker to the cell is not tripped. I will acquire the proper fuse this week and install it...but I have a feeling it will pop. I spoke to an authorized Pentair service tech and he indicated that is the fuse blows again it's probably the cell causing it.

    I've searched online and found pricing at approx. $500+. I've also searched on how to crack one of these open and troubleshoot.

    Thanks for your response...

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: IntelliChlor IC20 no LEDs lit

    I am having this same problem. The power center appears to be fine, fuse is fine, green led in power center is lit. The cell seems to be dead. No lights at all. Not clogged. I appreciate any help.

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Re: IntelliChlor IC20 no LEDs lit

    About 2 weeks after posting this, water started leaking from within the IC20...not from either end where the pipe junctions are...from within. I guess the same will eventually happen to yours too, Anywayt I shopped around locally and could not find anything cheapear the $507 (no including tax). I order one on EBAY for $472 with free s&h. It should be here by next week.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: IntelliChlor IC20 no LEDs lit

    Sorry to hear that. How old was yours? Mine is 3.5 years old also in C. florida. I read it should last for 5 but the warranty is 3. Guess I'm getting a new one too.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Re: IntelliChlor IC20 no LEDs lit

    Mine is a little over 4 years old. I just got the new one yesterday and installed. Now I need a fuse in the power connect and the pool will back online.

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Re: IntelliChlor IC20 no LEDs lit

    The new unit is install and working great.

    I ordered it off EBAY @ $471.95 w/ free s&h from:
    A1 Pool Supply
    PO BOX 230958
    LAS VEGAS, Nevada 89105-0958
    866-900-7665

    They were the cheapest I could find, at that time...even cheaper than from the guy who built my pool!

    I took apart the old one, thinking I could figure out what went wrong, but the inerds are sealed farily well.

    I hope this information helps you.

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Re: IntelliChlor IC20 no LEDs lit

    I am having the same issue as others, no lights on cell but power supply appears to be functioning because green light is on. I replaced the fuse just be sure but that didn't fix the problem. When the cell goes bad do all the lights on the cell stop functioning?

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Re: IntelliChlor IC20 no LEDs lit

    Yes they do. In my case, the fuse was blown so I replaced it. As soon as I applied power, the LEDs on the IC20 came one for less than a second and then all of them went out. Hence the fuse was blown, again. When I called a local pool company for some advice they mentioned this sounds like the IC20 rather than the Power Connect.

    Hope this helps and good luck.

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Winter Haven, FL
    Posts
    64

    Re: IntelliChlor IC20 no LEDs lit

    I am having this problem, and I rent my house. Hopefully my landlords can get it fixed. I am responsible for maintaing the pool, but I shouldn't be responsible if this thing is jacked up on me. Plus I just moved into the house.
    About my pool: 15x32 IG Gunite, 16.2k gallons, SWG, Solaxx PureChlor, Cartridge filter

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    4

    Re: IntelliChlor IC20 no LEDs lit

    I'm having same problem with my IC20 suddenly no lights but status light is on on Easy Touch. Went to Diagnostics and it shows Com Link Error on display. Is that also a sign of a bad cell? Hate to buy a new one unless its something else. No fuses on my system, just circuit breaker which is not tripped.

  13. Back To Top    #13
    Mod Squad mknauss's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Laughlin, NV
    Posts
    3,853

    Re: IntelliChlor IC20 no LEDs lit

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr T View Post
    I'm having same problem with my IC20 suddenly no lights but status light is on on Easy Touch. Went to Diagnostics and it shows Com Link Error on display. Is that also a sign of a bad cell? Hate to buy a new one unless its something else. No fuses on my system, just circuit breaker which is not tripped.
    That typically means there is no power getting to the IC20. Check your connections. Also be sure it is set in the ET to be on.
    6000 Gallon IG Fiberglass with integrated Spa
    Pentair CCP240 Cartridge Filter with Pentair Intelliflow 3050VS Pump and Pentair HTR250 heater. IC40 SWG. EasyTouch 4. TF 100 Test Kit w/SpeedStir!
    CLICK HERE to Become a TroubleFreePool.com Supporter!!
    Marty

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    4

    Re: IntelliChlor IC20 no LEDs lit

    Checked connection & ET is set to on.

  15. Back To Top    #15
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    5,311

    Re: IntelliChlor IC20 no LEDs lit

    T,

    No lights at all indicate the unit is not getting any power. When it does not get power the EasyTouch will report a "No Com" error because it can't talk to the cell.

    If wired correctly, the cell will only get power when the pump is running. The cell should be getting its power from the load side of the Pump/Filter relay.

    So, with the pump running I'd make sure that the load side of the Pump/Filter relay has power. (220 or 110 volts depending on how you transformer is wired..)

    This also assumes your EasyTouch has the built in power supply... There is also a small circuit breaker in the upper right side of the front panel on the ET that you should check..

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Calder Spa.

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Delray Beach, FL
    Posts
    1

    Re: IntelliChlor IC20 no LEDs lit

    My IC20 has no lights lit. The fuse was bad, and it was a bear to remove. The plastic plug crumbled when trying to remove. Ordered a new assembly on Amazon for $20. New plug wouldn't fit old holder so had to replace the whole component. Also a lot of fun. Now the light is lit in the power unit but still not on cell. I assume cell is bad as it is 5 yrs and that seems to be the norm. My question is this. I checked the power connection at the power unit and when removing I noticed visible moisture. Also some corrosion and even a burnt smell. Does the new cell come with this receptacle or does it have to be purchased separately. Could water intrusion caused the cell failure? We just went though hurricane Irma and everything saw more moisture than usual.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •