Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: High Cal and Tablet Use

1. Back To Top    #1

High Cal and Tablet Use

Im brand new to pool care- literally got my CPO this week. (Im a golf course superintendent and just acquired the pool management). I was also in a meeting where I was informed they are trying to convert from liquid Chlorine to "Tablets". I asked which tablets?...crickets....

Then I pointed out that we have incredibly high calcium from our well water used to fill the pool (and I'm not paying for water). They want "tablets" for ease of handling (not that they handle the liquid anyway). In my CPO class, I was informed my options for tablets are Tri-Chlor, Di-Chlor or Cal Hypo. Tri- and Di- contain cyanuric acid, so you wouldn't use them all season long, thus Cal hypo tablets. Wouldn't the high cal water and cal based chlorine create more problems?

Help. Thx.
    163,000 IG 1992 fiberglass overtop 1962 gunnite, 1987 Swimquip Hi-Rate HRP-30 sand filters, 7.5 Hp 3p Marlow Pump; 4,500 IG fiberglass overtop 1962 gunnite, 2008 Hayward sand filter; Liquid Chlorine via Blue-White & Rola-Chem's, High Calcium well water, Located in W. Maryland.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: High Cal and Tablet Use

Yes.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

3. Back To Top    #3