Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Hot tub constanly turning on and off.

1. Back To Top    #1

Hot tub constanly turning on and off.

Hey guys I have a question. I am new to hot tubs so excuse my lack of knowledge. I inherited a Jaccuzzi Essence 345 used tub which was exclusively used indoors. The tub is in great shape and I am not having to many issues with the water however I noticed that throughout the day and night the tub turns on for roughly 45 -60 seconds then turns off and this seems to happen every few minutes. I did notice that the tub is going through the 2 hour filter cycle in the morning however I cant confirm if it going through the 2 hour filter cycle 12 hours later as stating in the manual. Any ideas as to why this is happening?

Manny
    30,000 K Pebble Sheen
    Sta-Rite Vertical Grid DE Filter
    2 HP AO Smith Filter pump
    2 HP AO Smith Waterfall pump

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Hot tub constanly turning on and off.

It's likely checking it's water temp.

Scott
    Owner of - PoolGuyNJ LLC
    Expert Pool and Spa Repairs, Renovations, and Augmentation. Helping people decide what is the right gear for meeting their needs. Expectations Set, Expectations Met, No Surprises.

3. Back To Top    #3

Scott,

Thanks for the response, I hear what you are saying and that was my initial thought however I find it odd that it is turning on ever 3-4 minutes. How often does a tub normally check the water temp?

Manny
    30,000 K Pebble Sheen
    Sta-Rite Vertical Grid DE Filter
    2 HP AO Smith Filter pump
    2 HP AO Smith Waterfall pump

4. Back To Top    #4

There is no "Normal". That is usually up to the s/w designer and product manager.

Scott
    Owner of - PoolGuyNJ LLC
    Expert Pool and Spa Repairs, Renovations, and Augmentation. Helping people decide what is the right gear for meeting their needs. Expectations Set, Expectations Met, No Surprises.

5. Back To Top    #5

In the Industry