Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Wish me luck

1. Back To Top    #1

Wish me luck

Towards the end of summer, every once in a while when I started the pump manually, I'd just catch a glimpse of a squirt of water by the pump. Never lost prime, no puddles. Around the time of our huge windstorms, the pump started getting noisy. I've been a mechanic long enough to know the sound of a bad bearing. It's still pumping okay, still not losing prime, still not leaking. I let the holidays go past. Now it's time to wrestle the thing out from where it's entrapped by the maze of piping and deal with it.

Fortunately, it looks like I can detach the pump and motor from the housing. This means no cutting pipes. Not sure how I am going to get the thing up and over all the piping yet....

Anyway, that's on the schedule for tomorrow. The water's been maintaining its balance quite well, so I'm dosing it good before I shut it all down.

I'll probably let the local independent pool store do the work. While I do have gear pullers and die grinders and access to a hydraulic bearing press at work, right now time is more important than money.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Wish me luck

Good thing that you are getting to handle this issue in the off-season. Good luck!

3. Back To Top    #3

Good luck Richard!
    15,600 Gallon, 16' x 32' In-Ground Vinyl Pool
    Pentair VS 3050 pump, Quad DE 60 filter and SunTouch controller
    8 gallon Liquidator, Aquatherm EcoSun Solar Panels, 2 wheel ThePoolCleaner

4. Back To Top    #4