Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: I might be Crazy?

1. Back To Top    #1

I might be Crazy?

We live in Wisconsin and my wife wants to be able to use an IGP all year. I have some idea's but I thought I would see if any of the experts think it is possible. This will be new construction for home and pool and we are going to have Geothermal Heat for home so the loop will be installed if it makes sense to heat pool with same. Oh yea it's damm cold most of the time.

Cheers,
    Patrick
    Building year round use outdoor in ground pool in Wisconsin

2. Back To Top    #2

In the Industry

Re: I might be Crazy?

Hi, Patrick,

Welcome to the forum.

The amount of energy required to heat a pool is stunning compared to heating your home. You would need FAR more btu's to keep an IG pool swimmable in Wisconsin than you might think.

As a btu rookie, I had visions of heating my pool with a whole house wood heater.......there were not enough trees in North Carolina to do what I wanted!! Granted, I have a very large pool but the energy required is enormous.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

Perhaps a dumb question, but are you referring to an enclosed IGP or one fully exposed to the elements?
    I've seen several people here in northern Ontario (ie: cold) with IGP's used all year but they are enclosed in a pool room, an IGP open to the elements isn't gonna happen, well, I guess it could but man, you'd have to throw a tremendous amount of heat at the thing.
    20' X 54" Sharkline Matrix Resin AGP, 9400 Gallons, Sta-Rite 1 HP Dynamo Pump, 150 lb Pentair Sand Filter, Gorilla Pad,
    Foam Cove, Taylor K-2006 kit, BBB method, 8'X20' Fafco Sunsaver Hard Plumb, DIY Fountain, Margarittaville Fiji

My Build: one-man-one-pool-and-one-deck-agp-pics-t37172.html
    My Build 'To-Do' List for other DIY'ers: my-pool-build-list-t40249.html?hilit=list