Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Planning my pool – please help!!

1. Back To Top    #1

Planning my pool – please help!!

Short version: what type of pool is best for

- adult lap swimming (with perhaps occasional floating)
    - warm/mild climate with expansive soils (swelling clay) and earthquakes (Southern California; I am a transplant from the land of lakes and snow).
    - resisting tree roots
    - low maintenance to allow travel

Long version:

Dear forumites:
    I am a newbie and life-long swim addict who grew up swimming in a lake 3 hrs/day in summertime, and that is my happy dose of swimming. I now live in the area with no swimming lakes (job move), so I need to get a pool, or I will go crazy. My new (although quite old) house has a nice back yard (for the area, anyway), about 30X60 ft, and ideally I would like a lap pool about 14X40, and at least 12X35 (well, I want a lake, but I can't have it). Do not need and can’t afford bells and whistles, and spa would be nice, but I really want to maximize a swim area. Do not care if I have a deck, but I guess you are supposed to have one. I would like to get a poolside bath&shower someday, and hopefully a cabana, but I do not think I can afford it now (although considering getting plumbing done while the pool is done).
    I really could use some help making up my mind about the type of the pool.
    The most typical pool here is gunite; hardly any above ground pools (not cool enough for the area I guess; it is quite snobbish here. I would not mind the looks of above the ground, but I am afraid it will burst and ruin the house, and also do not really care for climbing. It will also have to be huge). There are not many fiberglass or vinyl pools either, which seems odd the more I read about this – we have nasty swelling clay soils and earthquakes, which in my mind calls for a more flexible pool, no? This makes me like the idea of fiberglass.

Additional pros for fiberglass: