Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: What size Intellichlor should I get?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Montgomery Texas
    Posts
    89

    What size Intellichlor should I get?

    Sorry for all the questions? But hopefully these will help someone else too in the future. My pool will be approximately 32000 gallons. I thought I read about how you should oversize the swg. should I go with the ic-40 or 60? Thanks steve
    24X38'ish 23,500 gallon Geometric with 10x10 spa(12jets), Pentair IC40 SWG, Pentair intelliflow(pool-spa), pentair whispersflow 2HP(booster spa jets), Two Polaris 1.5 Hp blowers, Pentair Wisperflow XF 3HP(2 6 foot water falls), Pentair clean&clear plus 520, Pentair Master temp 400. Intelli PH acid dispenser, Intellitouch with iPhone and iPad control. Two 45000 BTU fire bowls and one 60000 BTU fire pit.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    XsAllOverIt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Mount Airy, Maryland
    Posts
    560

    Re: What size Intellichlor should I get?

    I've got a 22,000 gallon pool with an IC-40 and it works great at 10% with the pump running full-time. If I were buying one for a 32000 gallon pool, I would opt for the ic-60 and run at lower percentages than run an IC-40 at near 100%.
    18 x 36 Inground Gunnite, White Plaster 21K gallon
    18" raised spa, 8' Diameter (620 gallon)
    Triton II Sand filter, Intellichlor IC40 SWG
    Pentair Pump, Max-E-Therm 400 BTU
    Lamotte ColorQ PRO 7-Plus test kit
    TFT-100 test kit

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Massachusetts
    Posts
    2,690

    Re: What size Intellichlor should I get?

    +1 on the IC-60
    14,000 gallon IG, Vinyl. Hayward 3/4 hp superpump, Penatair IC40 SWCG, Pentair automation, Hayward sand filter, Aqua Comfort heat pump, Hayward 400k Lo-Nox LP heater.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Montgomery Texas
    Posts
    89

    Re: What size Intellichlor should I get?

    I was thinking the same thing I just wanted some other assurance. Thank you.
    24X38'ish 23,500 gallon Geometric with 10x10 spa(12jets), Pentair IC40 SWG, Pentair intelliflow(pool-spa), pentair whispersflow 2HP(booster spa jets), Two Polaris 1.5 Hp blowers, Pentair Wisperflow XF 3HP(2 6 foot water falls), Pentair clean&clear plus 520, Pentair Master temp 400. Intelli PH acid dispenser, Intellitouch with iPhone and iPad control. Two 45000 BTU fire bowls and one 60000 BTU fire pit.

  5. Back To Top    #5

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,085

    Re: What size Intellichlor should I get?

    Hi, Steve,

    +2 on the IC-60
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  6. Back To Top    #6

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    near the swamp
    Posts
    804

    Re: What size Intellichlor should I get?

    +3 ?

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Re: What size Intellichlor should I get?

    If you're not getting automation, you might want to consider adding it because it will give you better control of the cell output. Without automation, the cell can be difficult to tune to your needs.

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Petaluma, Ca
    Posts
    665

    Re: What size Intellichlor should I get?

    I had an ic-40 with my 33,000 gallon pool keeping the cl @ 4ppm when set at 35%, not to say bigger isnt better. The water was circulated for about 12 hrs a day at that time. It was just replaced due to faulty salt measurments though.
    DONE, 20 x 40, inground gunite, 30" raised bond beam with 3 12" sheer descents, 8' diving board, pentair 420 cartridge filter, vs-3050 pump, intellechlor ic-40, auto cvr, Tahoe blue pebble tech, 6ea 4' x 12.5' & 2ea 1' x 12.5' helicol solar panels, legend robotic cleaner.

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Montgomery Texas
    Posts
    89

    Re: What size Intellichlor should I get?

    I'm doing the intellitouch system for automation. I'm going to go to the ic-60 it's not that much more money and I can always go down but I can't go up thanks
    24X38'ish 23,500 gallon Geometric with 10x10 spa(12jets), Pentair IC40 SWG, Pentair intelliflow(pool-spa), pentair whispersflow 2HP(booster spa jets), Two Polaris 1.5 Hp blowers, Pentair Wisperflow XF 3HP(2 6 foot water falls), Pentair clean&clear plus 520, Pentair Master temp 400. Intelli PH acid dispenser, Intellitouch with iPhone and iPad control. Two 45000 BTU fire bowls and one 60000 BTU fire pit.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •