Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Autofill or not???

1. Back To Top    #1

Autofill or not???

Any thoughts. I travel for a living so i'm gone a lot and would love to no my pump is getting the water it needs. Pb says he wouldn't because of the failure rate. Is there so something better on the market these days? Thanks Steve
    24X38'ish 23,500 gallon Geometric with 10x10 spa(12jets), Pentair IC40 SWG, Pentair intelliflow(pool-spa), pentair whispersflow 2HP(booster spa jets), Two Polaris 1.5 Hp blowers, Pentair Wisperflow XF 3HP(2 6 foot water falls), Pentair clean&clear plus 520, Pentair Master temp 400. Intelli PH acid dispenser, Intellitouch with iPhone and iPad control. Two 45000 BTU fire bowls and one 60000 BTU fire pit.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Autofill or not???

I have this one. http://www.mp-industries.com/products.html#autolev

The lever broke after 12 years. I found the replacement part online, and on eBay for a reasonable cost.

I like not having to fill the pool.
    Pool IG 16,000 gallon (33 x 16) Spa IG 700 gallon spa - Dark Plaster, TF-100 Test Kit w/ salt test
    Sta-Rite IntelliPro VS 3050, Pentair FNS Plus 60 sq ft DE 150 GPM (rating from manual)
    Pentair Easy Touch 8, Intellichlor IC40, Polaris 360, Lars Lx400 NatGas heater, Fafco Solar panels

3. Back To Top    #3

In the Industry

Pb says he wouldn't because of the failure rate.
    I think that has some merit. automation is great but, when unattended, a failed autofill can cause some big problems.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

4. Back To Top    #4

I'd say go for it. I've got one and love it.
    11,200 gal, Pebble-Tec; Tristar 2-speed 1hp - Swimclear 325 ft2 cart - SWG - A & A in-floor cleaner - Heat pump. For the poolside cooking, a Yoder Wichita and a Big Steel Keg!
    TF Test Kits -- PoolMath -- Pool School
    Make each day your masterpiece. - John Wooden