Doughboy removal and reinstallation

johndoe

LifeTime Supporter
Sep 30, 2011
Hi, longtime reader and 1st time poster here! My family past the AGP test this season and as my winter project this year am considering semi burial of a doughboy. As luck would have it I have a friend of a friend who wants their 15x24' doughboy removed. It is currently set up completely above ground, I don't know the exact age, liner is 2 years old and has a newish pump and hayward sand filter...

In my backyard 15x24 is pushing it, trees, is it possible to leave out a section and shrink to 12x24? Can I reuse the liner or should I start fresh? I'm not sure on the depth of this pool yet. I would like to bury all except maybe 16", 2 courses of cinderblock. And include a foot or 2 of deep end. Additionally I might like to attach/tie in my spa with a waterfall. Anyone with pics of something similar? I'm just getting into my research phase so any guidance would be appreciated. I work in construction, hvac, plumbing and electrical, and am familiar with lots of tools and ideas, I hope I can do it all myself.

I'm sure the experts will be around soon to answer some of your questions. I too want a 12x24 semi inground some day. Here is what I have learned in my research.

The burial has to be 2 or 4 feet deep for structural support. My local installer said 3 feet was a no go.

The 15 foot width can't be changed and be aware of the support buttresses, that will add 2 feet on each end making it 19 feet.

If the liner is more than season old you will need to install a new one. The old liner will not have the elasticity to fit the pool when you set it up again.

Lots of help here for you. Search some old posts you will find many of your answers. You will have luck in the above ground pool section.