Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Brown stains all over the pool. Best way to remove?

1. Back To Top    #1

Brown stains all over the pool. Best way to remove?

I have been servicing a pool for 6 months. When I took over the pool it already had brown stains, but over time they have gotten worse. The brown has gotten darker and the pool has developed more stains.

Buying a stain remover that needs to be put directly onto the stains is no good as the pool is covered in them.

What, currently, is the best treatment for such stains? One that can simply be added to the pool as opposed to directly onto the stains.

Thank you.

2. Back To Top    #2

In the Industry

Re: Brown stains all over the pool. Best way to remove?

You must first identify if the stain is organic or inorganic. Hold a puck on the stains for about a minute. If the puck lightens the stain, it is organic. Post back your results.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

Great. I'll head over to the pool later this evening.

Is there anything else I can do while I am there? Any other tests to save me going back again later? I read something about absorbic acid?

4. Back To Top    #4

You can take a vitamin C tablet and if the trichlor doesn't lighten it you can hold the tablet on it and see what that does.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

5. Back To Top    #5

OK... so I took a chlorine tab, held it against one of the stains for a minute, and it did nothing. I didn't have a Vit C tablet.