Chlorine Question

Gardog

Feb 17, 2008
I am starting to open my pool & I tested my chlorine. The color is orange & it looks to be way off the charts on the high side. I am guessing the ppm is 10 or more. The color is not even close to the color that the test kit shows that it should be after putting in the drops. My ph is close to 7.2
Do I need to reduce my chlorine level? If so, how do I do this?
I'm very new to this & really don't understand all the chemistry involved.

Welcome to the forum. The chlorine is naturally consumed by sunlight and organics in your pool.....it will come down on it's own. It may take a few days but it will come down. You need to figure out how you got it so high and be sure not to do it that same way.

The best way to get started learning more about your pool water chemistry is to read the "Stickies: section. It will be a little intimidating at first but, if you "stick" with it, it will make some sense. The more times you read and reread, the more it makes sense.

One of the first things that many do not understand (which you just learned) is that chlorine is a consumable item and will need to be replenished constantly. I know that's not your problem now but be aware that you will need to add chlorine all summer or your pool will turn green.

On a very good note, your pH is perfect.

Keep reading and asking questions.....you'll have clear pool water all summer.

Thanx for the quick response. I have read some of the sticky's & you are right. It is overwhelming.
Will this high chlorine level make my water cloudy? I have had algea & I think I have gotten rid of it so I put some flok in, ran the pump for 1 hour, shut it down & let it sit overnight. I vaccumed today & the water is still cloudy. Do you think some of the flok is still in the water or what?