Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Question about closing above ground pool

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Niagara Falls, NY
    Posts
    7

    Question about closing above ground pool

    Last year I didnt drain my pool at all. I used the aqua door and a rubber plug to cover the inlet and outlets. (again above ground pool)
    This year I couldn't get the aqua door to snap back on no matter how hard I tried.
    So I lowered the water just below the skimmer but NOT below the inlet. I put the rubber plug back in the inlet the same as last year. Removed all the hoses and put the cover on. (after cleaning and winter chemicles of course)
    So now do I leave the skimmer open so any rain water can drain thru without accumulating or would I want to put in a gizmo? Will rainwater that comes thru the skimmer and then into the pool itself affect anything?
    I live in WNY where winters are rough, cold and snowy!
    Thanks for any input!
    Pearl
    18 x 36 Vinyl IG, Pentair Superflow 3/4 HP pump,
    Sta-Rite Pentair Cartridge filter PLM200, Pentair IC40 SWG,
    City 2 Interfab Slide

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Question about closing above ground pool

    If you took the hose off the bottom of the skimmer and it's open, I wouldn't worry about a gizmo.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Re: Question about closing above ground pool

    I closed up yesterday too and was wondering the same thing, if I drain through the skimmer is that an acceptable level to leave it with the return plugged, but since I need to lower CYA it wasn't a waste of time lowering it about 2" below the return.
    Aaron
    [ Vogue Vectra 24' AG | Hard plumb: Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 1HP 2-speed, 27" sand filter & Pentair MiniMax 100 NG | Taylor K-2006 | Central IL ]
    Powered by: TFP, PoolMath & TFTestkits

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Niagara Falls, NY
    Posts
    7

    Re: Question about closing above ground pool

    So I just wanted to give an update to anyone that might come across this when looking for info about Aqua doors. I was able to get my Aqua door on last winter ( winter of 2013) Well we had an unbelievably hard cold winter this year. Well the water in my pool froze and heaved up under the top rails, which heaved the top rails up about 8 to 10 inches which then in turn pulled half the uprights up right out of the ground! I found all this in the early Spring. The half that heaved up was supported by the deck fortunately. Well my pool guy said he couldn't fix it until all the ice had melted. In the meantime we had some heavy rains (just after all the ice was gone and pool guy was coming to fix it that week) The weight of the water must have been to much for the compromised structure and my whole pool collapsed. It looked like a bomb had went off when I had gotten home.
    Lesson here.... the Aqua door is great but maybe not in areas that can experience hard freezes. I am sure my pool would have been fine if the water level had been lowered. Freak thing to happen , was fine every other year...but now I am paying the cost big time.

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Casey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SW PA
    Posts
    10,157

    Re: Question about closing above ground pool

    Dang.... that's crazy! I don't use the Aquador but my dad n brother do.
    I'd bet you my bikini you'll never get TFP water from a pool store!

    24' Sharkline Venture De Filter

  6. Back To Top    #6
    pwrstrk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Elverson Pa.
    Posts
    4,758

    Question about closing above ground pool

    I use the Aquador and we had a very cold winter last year. At one point I had probably two feet of ice. I use a winter cover with a mesh strip down the center, so it lets water seep thru. I'm lazy and don't want to mess around with a cover pump. Lol. All I did was monitor the water level and drained it down when it needed to be. Had zero problems. When using one you just have to keep an eye on things. Even though the pool is not being used, I still keep a good eye on things. 😎
    Jeff
    24'x54" AG Morada RTR (by wilbar) 13'500 gal. Hayward Powerflo Matrix 1hp 2 speed. Hayward Perflex EC65 DE filter.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Montville NJ
    Posts
    545

    Re: Question about closing above ground pool

    I use a similar product, it is a metal panel you screw on over the skimmer, as opposed to a snap on door - but same function.

    I drain my pool down to about an inch above the bottom of the skimmer. I figure that is enough expansion room for any ice (I also keep my cover clear of water).

    This last winter, the problem was to pool froze deep enough to freeze below the return. The ice froze around the return plug wing nut, then shifted and pulled the plug out. I was away that weekend, so I had a skating rink on the lawn when I got back.

    -dave
    27' Round ABG (17,000 gal) - +/- 11 hours of full sun per day
    Hard plumbed Hayward Perflex EC-40 DE filter w/ 1 HP pump (Got a new one June 2015)
    Filered 4 hours per day (on a timer)
    Pentair Aqualuminator - now working - and now dead once again, this time for good.
    Zodiac Wahoo

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •