Cal-Hypo bad for vinyl?

Jul 8, 2011
SW MO
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Was at Leslie's seeing if they could loosen the pump impeller for a rebuild. I was telling them about the chemicals that had come with the pool I acquired and they said that Cal-Hypo was bad for vinyl liners. They said they wouldn't warranty a liner that had Cal-Hypo used in it. I'm new to this pool stuff but have done some reading here and elsewhere and hadn't heard this. I hadn't planned on using the Cal-Hypo as I have high calcium levels in my fill water. This is only the second time I've been in a pool store and after reading about them here I take everything they say with lots of skepticism. :-D I'd just like to know the truth so I ask here.

JohnT's explaination plus - CalHypo is acidic, so if it settles on the liner it can cause problems. Had it happen to my Softub, the bottom is now all wrinkled because I was using CalHypo thinking it was DiChlor and didn't make sure that the stuff was completely dissolved.

tphaggerty said:
CalHypo is acidic
Cal-Hypo is not acidic -- like all sources of hypochlorite it is basic/alkaline at least when initially added. Trichlor is acidic. If you added Cal-Hypo and it settled to the bottom with some undissolved, then the high chlorine levels and/or high pH were the issue. With vinyl liners, concentrated chemicals such as chlorine or acid should be added slowly over a return flow with the pump running and then the liner lightly brushed in the area where the chemical was added to ensure thorough mixing. With Cal-Hypo, one can premix some in a bucket of pool water to help dissolve it.