Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Heat pump: Pool or Spa mode

1. Back To Top    #1

Heat pump: Pool or Spa mode

I don't get it. What's the difference in pool mode or spa mode? The water still goes in through the inlet and out through the outlet. What is the difference in these settings on a heater? Thanks.
    13'x22'x52" 8,000 gallon ProSeries Pool with Borates
    Intex 110 pound Sand Filter with Zeobrite, 2650 gph pump, 0.95 hp
    Bestway SWG
    AquaPro ECO500 50,000 BTU heat pump
    GLI Whirlwind Solar Cover Reel, TF-100 Test Kit

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Heat pump: Pool or Spa mode

I'm no expert but I'd guess it's the temp it heats to or the length of time it runs.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

3. Back To Top    #3

Hmmm....I wonder if it's the temp it heats to as you say. I doubt it's the runtime as it will run until it reaches the set temperature. I guess I could check it by seeing how high each setting (pool or spa) allows me to set the temperature. Never thought of that.
    Bestway SWG

4. Back To Top    #4

Mine is that way. It lets you set a temp for pool and a temp for the spa that's all.
    Screen enclosed 17K gal 16x30 IG with Diamond Brite finish, elevated 4 jet spa with spill over, Twin dolphin fountain, Hayward Ecostar pump[ Pentair intelliflo VS, Filter Sta rite Posi-Flo PTM 100, Aqua Cal heat pump, Tiger Shark QC robotic cleaner.
    Stenner peristaltic pump model 45MPHP10, 15 gal storage tank. TF 100 with Speed Stir.

5. Back To Top    #5

Quote Originally Posted by mikespoolfl
    Mine is that way. It lets you set a temp for pool and a temp for the spa that's all.
    x2