Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Can't get DE filter to prime after cleaning it

1. Back To Top    #1

Can't get DE filter to prime after cleaning it

Hi! I am very new to taking care of a pool, so please forgive me if I sound like I don't know what I am doing....because I don't.

I was in the hospital and when I got home my pool is completely green. I vacuumed to waste and then lost suction. I cleaned out the filter basket and then could not get it to re-prime. I then cleaned the DE filter (it was filthy....covered in algae and DE). I still can not get the pump to re-prime. When, the filter is off tons of air is coming out. When I turn the filter on, it takes a while and then a slow stream of water comes out. Also the skimmer basket does not stay full of water. It stays about 1/2-2/3 full but there do not appear to be any leaks around it.

What position should the pool returns be in?

What about the skimmers? I read that they should be closed when trying to re-prime.

What about the main drain?

Do you have any suggestions of other things that I should check for?

Thank you!
    Steve-Liteguy

13K Pebble-tech Pool, ECO pump, IntelliChlor SWG, DE

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Can't get DE filter to prime after cleaning it

Hi, welcome to TFP! Check that the skimmer basket in the pool skimmer is empty. Is the water level in the pool at least 1/2 way up the skimmer opening? If the water level is low the pump may not prime very well. Remove the lid from the pump strainer pot. Use a cup and fill the pot with water, then put the lid back on. Also, open the air bleeder on top of the DE filter before turning the pump on. Allow the filter to fill with water, then close the bleeder when a stream of water shoots out. If this does not help, post a couple of pictures of the problem and we'll see if we can figure out what is wrong.
    TFP Moderator
    Helpful links: TF Test Kits,TFP Pool School, PoolMath