Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 45

Thread: Not be able to generate anymore chlorine

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Not be able to generate anymore chlorine

    I have month old 14,000 gallon pool with aqua rite salt system with T9 cell. Have been running my pool 10 hours a day with the salt system at 100 percent and the chlorine level never gets higher than 1. My cya level is at 80 and it has been sunny and temperature in the 90's. Is it normal to not be able to generate anymore chlorine than that while running the pump for 10 hours? No one has swam in the pool the last 5 days.

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Water Balance for SWGs

    Month old pool. Is there salt in it? What's the ppm?
    14,000 gallon IG plaster pool, Cartridge Filter

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Re: Water Balance for SWGs

    Salt was tested at pool store at 3100ppm.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Not be able to generate anymore chlorine

    Welcome to TFP!

    No that is not normal. There are a couple of things that might be happening. The most likely is that you have a low level algae problem. There can be enough algae to use up the chlorine but not enough to be visible or take over the pool. It is also possible that the SWG is not working correctly, though that is much less likely. Another possibility is that your chlorine test is not working correctly, though again that is much less likely.

    The best thing to do is to do an overnight FC loss test, see Pool School for details. That will tell you if you have an algae problem or not.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  5. Back To Top    #5
    frogabog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    1,578

    Re: Not be able to generate anymore chlorine

    A note... If you do the OCLT make sure to turn the SWG off. Any chlorine it puts into the pool will skew the OCLT.

    Can I ask what kind of test kit you're using? Can you post a full set of test results for us?
    Where kids swim in 54 degree water, turn blue, and giggle happily cuz they got a POOL!
    Year 3 BBB -15' x 48" Intex Metal Frame - Was using (2) 1000gph Intex cartridge filters (see Full time pumping Intex). 2012, converted to 1600gph and sand filter+SWG = Sand filter love affair!
    Don't waste time and energy looking for a better value on test kits, the TF100 is the best deal around. I did the looking and spent the extra money, but you don't have to make the same mistake. Just go here: TFTestkits. I use Pool Calculator for min/max, and shocking chlorine levels.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: Not be able to generate anymore chlorine

    It is just a pentair kit that tests chlorine, ph, and alkalinity. Now that u say that about algae, is it possible for algae to plug up cartridge filters. Having problems keeping the filter pressure down even after cleaning them. Pool is only little over a month old. I thought the problem was some paint that got in the pool from spraying the sundek, but I also heard algae might plug the filters. Chlorine has been a 1, ph at 7.2-7.6. Having to put about a cup of muriatic acid a day to keep ph right.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Re: Not be able to generate anymore chlorine

    Just to let you know the pool is crystal clear.

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Re: Not be able to generate anymore chlorine

    From 8p.m. last night till 4a.m. this morning, the chlorine dropped 1 ppm. I noticed when I brushed the hot tub this morning there was some flaky looking stuff floating around. Could that be algae?

  9. Back To Top    #9

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,082

    Re: Not be able to generate anymore chlorine

    Hold your chlorine test block underwater DIRECTLY in front of the return water so that the sample you take out (put your finger over it as you remove it from the pool) should be concentrated chlorine. Do the test normally and the solution should turn orange or brown instead of yellow. report that result.

    Chances are good that you need to shock the pool with liquid chlorine, we'll see.....do not expect the SWG to do this.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Re: Not be able to generate anymore chlorine

    held the test tube over the return line and it did not turn brown or orange, just a deeper yellow than the pool is testing. It does seem like the chlorinator is doing something because bubbles come out of returns when it is on and stops when i turn it off. I shocked the pool and put the chlorinator at 50 percent. I guess I will wait a couple of days to see what happens. The water is sparkling, just hard to believe it may have algae in it.

  11. Back To Top    #11

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,082

    Re: Not be able to generate anymore chlorine

    I shocked the pool
    Well, not really. Shocking a pool is a precise process that can take several days but that's for another time.

    I am troubled slightly that your test didn't turn it orange or brown....it should have. While you are in a "wait and see" mode, I would suggest you brush the bottom and sides of the pool thoroughly at least once a day for a few days and see if that helps clear the pool.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Re: Not be able to generate anymore chlorine

    Quote Originally Posted by slayer
    From 8p.m. last night till 4a.m. this morning, the chlorine dropped 1 ppm. I noticed when I brushed the hot tub this morning there was some flaky looking stuff floating around. Could that be algae?
    Where are you located?

    Is your pump variable or 2 speed?
    23,000 gallon in ground pool with rock waterfall and spillover spa, Aqualink control system, Polaris 380 cleaner, Purex Triton Clean&Clear Plus cartridge filter. Located in The Woodlands, Texas.

    Pool owner since Nov 2008, Trouble Free since April 2009. Happy to help when I can.

  13. Back To Top    #13
    linen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    8,649

    Re: Not be able to generate anymore chlorine

    Quote Originally Posted by duraleigh
    I am troubled slightly that your test didn't turn it orange or brown....it should have.
    I know I have the lowely intex swg, but mine never (even when new) turns the the solution orange/brown just very deep yellow.

    Quote Originally Posted by slayer
    From 8p.m. last night till 4a.m. this morning, the chlorine dropped 1 ppm.
    Was the swg on during this period. If it was, and since you confirmed that you are a least getting deeper yellow with your test at the return, I would guess you have algae. If the swg was on read: http://www.troublefreepool.com/pool-...king_your_pool
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Re: Not be able to generate anymore chlorine

    I am located in new orleans, la. The chlorinator was not on last night. It was on this morning when I tested it and I have brushed the pool everyday.

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Re: Not be able to generate anymore chlorine

    I have a single stage pump.

  16. Back To Top    #16
    linen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    8,649

    Re: Not be able to generate anymore chlorine

    Quote Originally Posted by slayer
    The chlorinator was not on last night. It was on this morning when I tested it and I have brushed the pool everyday.
    Okay since the swg was not on during the OCLT, that is a good sign, but what was your FC (or TC level if you do not have the FAS-DPD test) level last night?
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

  17. Back To Top    #17

    Re: Not be able to generate anymore chlorine

    tc went from 1 to 0 last night,

  18. Back To Top    #18
    linen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    8,649

    Re: Not be able to generate anymore chlorine

    Quote Originally Posted by slayer
    tc went from 1 to 0 last night,
    I was suspicious of that. You really did not do a OCLT since you do not know how far your chlorine would drop if there was more available. Let's bring your pool up to shock level using bleach or liquid chlorine and then do the OCLT tonight. Just turn your swg off for now. Please don't hesitate to ask any questions you have as some of this can be confusing if you haven't done it before.
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

  19. Back To Top    #19

    Re: Not be able to generate anymore chlorine

    Ok, thanks. Do you know if algae would plug cartridge filters. I have problems with high pressure on the filter. I have cleaned them twice but pressure is about 12 psi higher than when I started the pool. They are only month old and it is pentair clean and clear 320. The sundek people did get paint in my pool, not sure if that clogged them or the possible algae has something to do with it.

  20. Back To Top    #20
    linen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    8,649

    Re: Not be able to generate anymore chlorine

    Quote Originally Posted by slayer
    Ok, thanks. Do you know if algae would plug cartridge filters. I have problems with high pressure on the filter. I have cleaned them twice but pressure is about 12 psi higher than when I started the pool. They are only month old and it is pentair clean and clear 320. The sundek people did get paint in my pool, not sure if that clogged them or the possible algae has something to do with it.
    I am only marginally informed about cartridges (I have one on my hot tub but have not had much trouble yet). Regardless of filter type, when clearing algae, the pressure will go up and the filter may need to be cleaned often. 5 psi rise from clean pressure is usually the guideline. What is the pressure reading right after you clean (not the pressure change)?
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •