spa empties itself into the pool.

Arlene

Aug 16, 2011
20,000 gal/IG/DE/pebble. I'm new to caring for the pool. Chemistry is kind of ok but mechanics not so good. The spa, for the second time in about 2 months, has emptied itself into the pool during the night while the pump was running. I have a pool company company coming tomorrow and until they get here, they told me to add water to the spa so the jets don't dry out. I started doing that and that water went into the pool. Now the pool level is above the top edge of the skimmer.
I turned a handle from Spa Suction to Pool Suction and I think the flow of water between the two has stopped. Now, though, I need to get some chems into the water. Is it ok to run the pump while the water level is so high?

Sounds like you were sucking the water from the spa and returning it to the pool. Try doing the opposite thing now: set suction to pool and return to spa, and it should fill back up.

Water level being high won't affect chemistry at all.

Arlene,

I don't know what your set up looks like, but it sounds like you may have a spa with a waterfall (where the water spills over into the pool).
You should be able to set your valves so that SUCTION is from the pool, and RETURN is to the spa (normally called spillover mode).
This will take water from the pool and fill the spa.

If both the pool and the spa are already completely full and your skimmers are covered, I don't think it necessarily hurts to run the pumps that way, but you might consider
setting the valve on your filter so that you pump some water out of the pool to lower the level a bit. You could even use it as an opportunity to backwash your filter.