Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Newbie, aspiring BBB

1. Back To Top    #1

Newbie, aspiring BBB

Newbie here, and I don't want to mess up the water! I am an aspiring BBB so tell me how I'm doing.
    FC - .2
    CC - .6
    pH - 7.6
    TA - 75
    CH - 150
    CYA - 30
    The pool store suggests 5 lbs of AlkPlus, but as I recall this is not necessary for vinyl pools. Also shock was suggested so I plan on boosting my bleach. Trying to figure on length of pump run too. Water is sparkling, even after a week away.

It would be great to have an informational section (maybe I haven't found it yet) for those folks having an AG pool installed informing them on what an installer is responsible for (what happens if my liner fails). We bought a used pool and and many installers expected us to already have the area leveled. When we had the pool professionally installed the liner failed on day 3, before anyone got a chance to swim in it, and we weren't sure who was responsible for the problem. The liner ripped on the seam, fortunately the pool store did replace the liner, the water and the re-install but it was a nightmare. Really great site, thanks.
    AG-Aqua Leader Jazz, 24'x52" Round, 14,633 gal, Hayward Power Flo LX 1.0 HP Pump, Clearwater II Cartridge filter

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Newbie, aspiring BBB

Boost your chlorine, now. You might be able to avoid shocking it, you're right on the cusp. Run it up to about 10. It will be okay to swim in it, and it will come down pretty fast. But if that one blast doesn't get rid of the CC, head over to Pool School and read up on how to shock your pool.

Pool Calculator will help you figure out how much bleach to add.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.