Brand New Pool Owner

gilliamsgirl

LifeTime Supporter
Aug 13, 2011
Charleston, SC
Hi, I am brand new to owning a house and a pool and I am in desperate need of help. I am from Alaska and have no clue. We are closing on our house next week, and we have been keeping an eye on the pool because the company hired to maintain it has decided to not do their job. In the last 3 days the pool has gone from cloudy to swamp. I have read the post about "swamp to oasis" but I am still confused with all the different terms and abbreviations and what I am supposed to do. There are a lot of levers and switches and I don't know what any of them are, so if someone could explain them to me that would be the greatest thing ever on earth!!!!

I posted the pictures on our site: http://poolproblems.shutterfly.com/pictures/22

If anyone can help I would greatly appreciate it!
Thank you very much!

Hi, welcome to TFP! First things first, you will need to have the water tested. Find a pool store in your area that does free testing and take them a sample. Do not buy anything they recommend and post the results here and we will take you through the shock process. You need to purchase a high quality FAS-DPD test kit such as a Taylor k2006 or the TF 100. Either of these kits are fine, but the TF 100 is a better value as you receive larger bottles of testing reagents for your money, and the shipping is very fast. A FAS-DPD test kit will allow you to test for higher levels of chlorine that are used when completing the shock process. Don't let someone talk you into buying test strips or any kit that only tests up to 5 ppm of chlorine. They are not adequate for completing the shock process.

Read through definitions and abbreviations and the visual encyclopedia of pool equipment for more information on pool equipment and terminology.

Also read through defeating algae and