Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Wanting to add borates but can't find test strips locally

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Wanting to add borates but can't find test strips locally

    Anyone have a recommended place to order the borate test strips? I went to all three pool stores in my town and no one had them.
    31,000G IG vinyl 20X40 True L. Hayward 1.5 superpump, Autopilot Pool Pilot Digital SWG, Hayward Model S244T 300lb sand filter, TF100 kit

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,331

    Re: Wanting to add borates but can't find test strips locall

    Tftestkits.net. The link's in my sig.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Re: Wanting to add borates but can't find test strips locall

    Thats the first place I looked when no one had them locally, but I didnt see them. I'll check again.

    EDIT: I found them! I guess I didn't look hard enough.
    31,000G IG vinyl 20X40 True L. Hayward 1.5 superpump, Autopilot Pool Pilot Digital SWG, Hayward Model S244T 300lb sand filter, TF100 kit

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: Wanting to add borates but can't find test strips locall

    Test strips are on the way. Since I have never added borates, is it safe to assume that I am at 0ppm and I can go ahead and add the borax and acid maybe say 3/4ths of the required amount to get to 50ppm and test when the strips come in? I think the directions said to NOT test for at least 48 hours anyway.
    31,000G IG vinyl 20X40 True L. Hayward 1.5 superpump, Autopilot Pool Pilot Digital SWG, Hayward Model S244T 300lb sand filter, TF100 kit

  5. Back To Top    #5
    linen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    8,649

    Re: Wanting to add borates but can't find test strips locall

    First step is to make sure your TA is 70-80 ppm! Is yours? This is important, since it will be hard to change later.
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

  6. Back To Top    #6
    linen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    8,649

    Re: Wanting to add borates but can't find test strips locall

    Quote Originally Posted by jsw5620
    Test strips are on the way. Since I have never added borates, is it safe to assume that I am at 0ppm and I can go ahead and add the borax and acid maybe say 3/4ths of the required amount to get to 50ppm and test when the strips come in? I think the directions said to NOT test for at least 48 hours anyway.
    If you are fairly confident in your pool volume, I see no reason not to follow waterbear's procedure and put the whole amount in. If you happen to end up a little high, that is not a problem, you will eventually drop due to backwashing, etc.
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Re: Wanting to add borates but can't find test strips locall

    Yes TA is at 70. pH is 7.2-7.5. All is in order. Only thing I'm missing are the borate test strips.
    31,000G IG vinyl 20X40 True L. Hayward 1.5 superpump, Autopilot Pool Pilot Digital SWG, Hayward Model S244T 300lb sand filter, TF100 kit

  8. Back To Top    #8
    frogabog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    1,578

    Re: Wanting to add borates but can't find test strips locall

    Adding borates is a little like adding CYA. Calculate for 50ppm and expect it to be in there. Testing will only tell you if you've come close, it's still a strip that you have to color match with. Any color other than what is shown on the label means guestimation. We added borates last year but never tested. This year, added makeup borates according to the amount of water that was drained over the winter... I got strips a few weeks ago and found out we nailed it. Only used one strip so far.

    As Linen said, make sure all your ducks are in a row before you start. Do it like the adding borates post says to. It's gonna mess with TA and PH, make sure you're adjusted before you start both phases.

    Adding makeup borates does not require two steps btw.
    Where kids swim in 54 degree water, turn blue, and giggle happily cuz they got a POOL!
    Year 3 BBB -15' x 48" Intex Metal Frame - Was using (2) 1000gph Intex cartridge filters (see Full time pumping Intex). 2012, converted to 1600gph and sand filter+SWG = Sand filter love affair!
    Don't waste time and energy looking for a better value on test kits, the TF100 is the best deal around. I did the looking and spent the extra money, but you don't have to make the same mistake. Just go here: TFTestkits. I use Pool Calculator for min/max, and shocking chlorine levels.

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Re: Wanting to add borates but can't find test strips locall

    I have tried calculating my pool volume but didn't have luck. The lady at the pool store looked at the drawings and said 28,000 gallons the best she could figure. One of the pool store guys that came out and looked and guessed it was closer to 35,000 gallons if he had to guess. I've always been horrible at math, but here is a drawing if any of you would like to help out?

    31,000G IG vinyl 20X40 True L. Hayward 1.5 superpump, Autopilot Pool Pilot Digital SWG, Hayward Model S244T 300lb sand filter, TF100 kit

  10. Back To Top    #10
    linen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    8,649

    Re: Wanting to add borates but can't find test strips locall

    Alright, I will give it a go...

    24*18.25*8 + 16*32*3 = 5040 cubic feet

    5040 cu ft * 7.48 gallons/cu ft = 37699 gallons

    It is probably lower than this since I am assuming there is a transition between the deep and the shallow, and maybe corners and steps? I would guess this would subtract ~ 6000 gallons...so my guess would be around 31000?
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Re: Wanting to add borates but can't find test strips locall

    Thank you!! Yes there is the transition from shallow to deep.
    31,000G IG vinyl 20X40 True L. Hayward 1.5 superpump, Autopilot Pool Pilot Digital SWG, Hayward Model S244T 300lb sand filter, TF100 kit

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Re: Wanting to add borates but can't find test strips locall

    Thanks to all here for helping with my algae problem, shocking process, and adding borates. Here is a pic of the deep end of my pool now. This cellphone pic doesn't do justice for the clarity and look of the water. Thanks again everyone!!

    31,000G IG vinyl 20X40 True L. Hayward 1.5 superpump, Autopilot Pool Pilot Digital SWG, Hayward Model S244T 300lb sand filter, TF100 kit

  13. Back To Top    #13
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,331

    Re: Wanting to add borates but can't find test strips locall

    Whoa! Nice!
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  14. Back To Top    #14
    dmanb2b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    3,728

    Re: Wanting to add borates but can't find test strips locall

    Stop playing tricks on us and get some water in that pool
    24'x52" AGP (13,500 Gallons), Intex SWG, (2)Solar Bear 4x20 panels, Hayward S220T Filter, 1/2hp Pentair Superflo

    Pool School, TFTestKits, Pool Calculator

  15. Back To Top    #15
    linen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    8,649

    Re: Wanting to add borates but can't find test strips locall

    Nice job
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Re: Wanting to add borates but can't find test strips locall

    Thanks everyone!! I am amazed at how clear it is. Now I just have to order my SWCG to help maintain my FC so I don't have to go through the nightmare of fighting algae again. Waiting on Josh over at saltpoolguys.com to send me an invoice to order the pool pilot digital today. I hope I like it and don't regret spending the extra $$ instead of going with the compupool.
    31,000G IG vinyl 20X40 True L. Hayward 1.5 superpump, Autopilot Pool Pilot Digital SWG, Hayward Model S244T 300lb sand filter, TF100 kit

  17. Back To Top    #17

    Re: Wanting to add borates but can't find test strips locall

    Thought I'd add a night picture as well. I am still really amazed at how clear it is!

    31,000G IG vinyl 20X40 True L. Hayward 1.5 superpump, Autopilot Pool Pilot Digital SWG, Hayward Model S244T 300lb sand filter, TF100 kit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •