Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Wiring T101

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    96

    Wiring T101

    I'm looking at wiring a T101 to a single speed pump. It is current turned off and on at the breaker. I believe it is 110v. I just replaced it 2 months ago and I'm going to double check to ensure it is 110v.
    18x36 IG Vinyl 23,000 gal, AO Smith 48Y 1hp pump, Jacuzzi Laser Sand Filter 250L, T104R, K2006, Polaris 280

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Ohm_Boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    1,344

    Re: Wiring T101

    [attachment=0:3qquaokf]T101.gif[/attachment:3qquaokf]
    I have this - it may help.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    [center:1kpalu48]Helpful Links: Pool School | CYA/Chlorine Chart | Pool Calculator[/center:1kpalu48]

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Ohm_Boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    1,344

    Re: Wiring T101

    Also, for what it's worth, the T101 is an indoor-rated timer.
    [center:1kpalu48]Helpful Links: Pool School | CYA/Chlorine Chart | Pool Calculator[/center:1kpalu48]

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    96

    Re: Wiring T101

    I actually ended up buying a T104. How is the wiring different?
    18x36 IG Vinyl 23,000 gal, AO Smith 48Y 1hp pump, Jacuzzi Laser Sand Filter 250L, T104R, K2006, Polaris 280

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Youngsville NC
    Posts
    395

    Re: Wiring T101

    I think the T104 is a 240V timer, but you could run the pump off just the black and white for 120V. The timer motor itself is 240V
    16x32 IG 19,000 gallons, Pentair 1.5 hp Energy Efficient Superflo pump (348024),vinyl liner, Chlorine dispenser, Hayward S-244T sand filter

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Ohm_Boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    1,344

    Re: Wiring T101

    Considerably. T104 is a 220v timer.
    [center:1kpalu48]Helpful Links: Pool School | CYA/Chlorine Chart | Pool Calculator[/center:1kpalu48]

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    96

    Re: Wiring T101

    Wow! Glad I just checked the pump. It is set to 230. I for some reason thought I had it on 110 when I installed. I pulled the cover plate off the back of the pump and the jumper is set to 230.
    18x36 IG Vinyl 23,000 gal, AO Smith 48Y 1hp pump, Jacuzzi Laser Sand Filter 250L, T104R, K2006, Polaris 280

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Wiring T101

    The T104 is not only a 208V - 277V timer it's also a DPST, meaning it has 2 switches. You can hook the pump up as shown in the graphic above or you can utilize the second set of contacts to switch both leads of the pump.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Youngsville NC
    Posts
    395

    Re: Wiring T101

    In this case, the T104 is what you really needed in the first place
    16x32 IG 19,000 gallons, Pentair 1.5 hp Energy Efficient Superflo pump (348024),vinyl liner, Chlorine dispenser, Hayward S-244T sand filter

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Ohm_Boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    1,344

    Re: Wiring T101

    On a 220V, you want to be sure that you switch both legs of the power.
    Here's the PDF from Intermatic on the T104
    http://www.intermatic.com/~/media/files ... glish.ashx
    Wire it like shown in the PDF.
    [center:1kpalu48]Helpful Links: Pool School | CYA/Chlorine Chart | Pool Calculator[/center:1kpalu48]

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    96

    Re: Wiring T101

    Quote Originally Posted by Ohm_Boy
    On a 220V, you want to be sure that you switch both legs of the power.
    Here's the PDF from Intermatic on the T104
    http://www.intermatic.com/~/media/files ... glish.ashx
    Wire it like shown in the PDF.
    Forgive my stupidity. I've attached a pic of my breaker. The first breaker from the left is the one that controls my pump. Should I be running out from the buttom of the breaker.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    18x36 IG Vinyl 23,000 gal, AO Smith 48Y 1hp pump, Jacuzzi Laser Sand Filter 250L, T104R, K2006, Polaris 280

  12. Back To Top    #12
    Ohm_Boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    1,344

    Re: Wiring T101

    Yes, the timer simply gets inserted into the line which already feeds your pump.
    Given your questions, though, I have to ask - are you sure you're up to this task? Electricity at 220v can be dangerous. Trust me, the price of an electrician is nothing compared to your life or the safety of your loved ones.
    [center:1kpalu48]Helpful Links: Pool School | CYA/Chlorine Chart | Pool Calculator[/center:1kpalu48]

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    96

    Re: Wiring T101

    Quote Originally Posted by Ohm_Boy
    Yes, the timer simply gets inserted into the line which already feeds your pump.
    Given your questions, though, I have to ask - are you sure you're up to this task? Electricity at 220v can be dangerous. Trust me, the price of an electrician is nothing compared to your life or the safety of your loved ones.
    I'm sure I am. I changed out the pump and that was 220. I killed the power at the main breaker and I have a voltage meter to make sure there is no power at the breaker at the pool breaker.
    18x36 IG Vinyl 23,000 gal, AO Smith 48Y 1hp pump, Jacuzzi Laser Sand Filter 250L, T104R, K2006, Polaris 280

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Youngsville NC
    Posts
    395

    Re: Wiring T101

    I don't see a GFCI there - you really should get one on your pump circuit. And any other that goes out to your equipment.
    16x32 IG 19,000 gallons, Pentair 1.5 hp Energy Efficient Superflo pump (348024),vinyl liner, Chlorine dispenser, Hayward S-244T sand filter

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    696

    Re: Wiring T101

    Looking at the picture of the breaker, I am curious about something that doesn't look right. This appears to be a main lug sub-panel, and yet the ground and neutrals are all tied into the grounding bar. AFAIK, the NEC says that sub-panels are to not have the ground tied to neutral. If the sub-panel exists on a separate structure (like a pool house), then the ground itself should be derived from separate grounding rods. But, I don't understand why they have the neutrals and grounds connected, especially since it appears that the feed from the main panel (black, red, white and bare copper) has both a neutral and bare copper ground wires.

    Any electricians here who can comment on this? How might this affect the GFCI breaker that appears to be feeding the lighting circuit. Also, shouldn't the two 2P breakers also be GFCIs (if the main panel breaker is not)?
    38K in ground pool with attached spa. Current equipment: Easytouch 8 (521150) with IC-60 SWCG with web control by Autelis, 1x Pentair IntelliFlo 011018 pump (for filter), 1x Pentair 2HP WhisperFlo pump (for waterfall), 2X Pentair IntelliBrite 5G 12V lights, Pentair MiniMax400 NG Heater, Pentair SMBW2060 DE filter. Zodiac Barracuda MX8 cleaner on dedicated cleaner line. Lighting/home automation controlled by Insteon/ISY-99i.

  16. Back To Top    #16
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Wiring T101

    That appears to be a 'double pole only' panel. It doesn't have a neutral bar. It's been rigged to hold the one single pole breaker by ganging the neutral and ground wires. A definite NEC no-no.

    You are right about the neutral & grounds not being connected in a sub panel.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  17. Back To Top    #17

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    696

    Re: Wiring T101

    The tie between ground and neutral in this subpanel is extremely dangerous. See here:

    http://www.electricalknowledge.com/foru ... s/1098.asp

    The reason that the NEC lists this as a no-no is explained. Since pools have equipotential bonding grids that are sometimes tied to equipment grounds (e.g. at pump motors, pool light junction boxes, etc), an equipment failure somewhere along that line could lead to considerable stray voltage in the water. I think you need to get this fixed immediately.
    38K in ground pool with attached spa. Current equipment: Easytouch 8 (521150) with IC-60 SWCG with web control by Autelis, 1x Pentair IntelliFlo 011018 pump (for filter), 1x Pentair 2HP WhisperFlo pump (for waterfall), 2X Pentair IntelliBrite 5G 12V lights, Pentair MiniMax400 NG Heater, Pentair SMBW2060 DE filter. Zodiac Barracuda MX8 cleaner on dedicated cleaner line. Lighting/home automation controlled by Insteon/ISY-99i.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •