Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Wire Size Needed For Pump/Motor ?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Wire Size Needed For Pump/Motor ?

    We have a new pool installed and just needed to know what size/type wire was needed for my setup...
    115V Motor
    60Hz
    9.5 Amps
    Between 75-80 feet from inside house breaker box and pool...

    I have seen a few install the 1/2 8ft long ground rods and bond the pool /motor and back to the GFCI Receptacle...Is this needed or just bond the motor to pool wall..? Thanks
    24' x 52" Round AGP Volts:115 Amps:9.5 Hz:60 HP:1.5 SPL PH:1 Max Load Amps:10.2 RPM:3450 SF:1.0 ENCL:DP FR:48 Insul Class:F AMB:40Deg's C Time Rating:Cont

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Wire Size Needed For Pump/Motor ?

    You need #12 awg THHN for that run.

    What type pool are you installing?

    You need to ground the motor using the ground conductor from the supply, and also bond the motor (and anything else metal) to the bonding loop of the pool. The bonding loop doesn't need to be grounded.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Re: Wire Size Needed For Pump/Motor ?

    Its the 24ft Aqua EZ pool we had the wall and liner problems with ' we talked about on another topic...I see where some used one of the bolts where the wall bolts together ' to bond the motor to the wall...So ur saying just use the ground from the house to the GFCI Receptacle' then to motor with the same house 12/2 ground wire' and like an #8 solid copper from the motor to the wall...No copper inground rod needed? Thanks

    Is the 12/2 UF-B underground wire in some type of conduit what i need ?
    24' x 52" Round AGP Volts:115 Amps:9.5 Hz:60 HP:1.5 SPL PH:1 Max Load Amps:10.2 RPM:3450 SF:1.0 ENCL:DP FR:48 Insul Class:F AMB:40Deg's C Time Rating:Cont

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Wire Size Needed For Pump/Motor ?

    You should run single conductors in conduit. But if the inspector (if there is one) allows UF-B, it's up to you.

    It would be nice if you put your equipment in your sig.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Dallas (Plano), TX
    Posts
    41

    Re: Wire Size Needed For Pump/Motor ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Bama Rambler

    The bonding loop doesn't need to be grounded.
    I didn't know this. Thanks!

    Best regards,

    Bill
    30 KGal IG plaster pool with diving board & spa, built '96; 2 speed (2.2/0.28 THP) AO Smith B2983 hi efficiency motor for circ (3 skimmers w/ 1.5" lines & drain w/ 2" line) (replaced original 1 speed Sta-Rite Max-E-Glas II 2.0 THP pump in 2011); waterfall w/ Sta-Rite Max-Glass II 2.5 THP pump w/ 2.5" lines, Polaris 280 pressure-side cleaner w/ 3/4 HP pump, Sta-Rite System 3 Vertical Grid 53 sqft DE filter, AquaLink RS6 P&S w/ 52 pin Rev K.33 controller, Rainbow offline tri-chlor erosion feeder, 450 KBTU/hr Rheme gas-fired heater, Dallas climate, 10¢/kwh current electric rate, energy monitoring system at http://www.welserver.com/WEL0043

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: Wire Size Needed For Pump/Motor ?

    I picked up 100Ft of the 12/2 UF-B underground wire...I think about 85ft is what i will need..Got the waterproof kit with bubble & GFCI Receptacle...25ft roll of #6 solid copper wire for bonding motor to pool wall...Lowes had the roll on sale...Just wanted to make sure what all needs to be bonded one more time...Just bond the motor to pool wall with the #6 i have...? Do i need to ground from receptacle down to motor ? Motor came with 3 prong plug that i can just plug in....Just got a little confused on what all needs to be grounded...thanks
    24' x 52" Round AGP Volts:115 Amps:9.5 Hz:60 HP:1.5 SPL PH:1 Max Load Amps:10.2 RPM:3450 SF:1.0 ENCL:DP FR:48 Insul Class:F AMB:40Deg's C Time Rating:Cont

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Youngsville NC
    Posts
    395

    Re: Wire Size Needed For Pump/Motor ?

    Your UF12/2 should have black, white and ground - all 3 should be connected back at the panel where you are getting power from. And no larger than a 20 Amp breaker. Your pump should also have a ground when you plug it into the GFCI.

    I don't know about your area - but when I talked to my county inspection department about replacing UF12-3 to a shed with UF8-3 - if I put it in conduit, I "only" have to trench 18 inches below ground - straight burial of the UF means 24 inches down.
    16x32 IG 19,000 gallons, Pentair 1.5 hp Energy Efficient Superflo pump (348024),vinyl liner, Chlorine dispenser, Hayward S-244T sand filter

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Wire Size Needed For Pump/Motor ?

    As Scooper said, you need to ground the green wire back to the panel. You also need to bond the motor on the external bonding lug to the pool bonding loop.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •