Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: AquaBot Turbo cord problem

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Central PA
    Posts
    63

    AquaBot Turbo cord problem

    Hi all,

    Our AquaBot Turbo is about three years old and has developed a power cord problem. The unit only runs intermittently and I figured out that if I wiggled the cord right where it is clamped to the side of the robot, the machine will turn on and off depending on the position of the cord. Obviously this is the primary stress point for the cord so I'm not entirely surprised.

    Aqua Products (the mfg.) will sell a replacement cord for close to $300, however they also told me that often if the cord is in good shape it can be shortened a bit to eliminate the bad area. They can perform this work, or an authorized service center can do it. I have two service centers nearby and it sounds like it will be about $100 through either center.

    I am handy & pretty mechanically inclined, with a decent workshop. Is this something I can DIY? Anybody else shortened one? I know we're dealing with electricity & water here, so I want to do a good job, either way...

    Thanks in advance!

    Steve
    29,000 gal. vinyl in-ground mountain lake (freeform); Hayward DE filter, 2 skimmers, AutoPilot SWG, 2 - 4 X 20 Fafco Solar Bears with Goldline control, Aquabot, LoopLoc winter cover, Pool installed March 2009...

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: AquaBot Turbo cord problem

    I don't know what type seal they use but if you can ensure the seal is good I see no reason you can't shorten the cord yourself. You can probably buy a new seal at Mouser if you need one.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SW Georgia
    Posts
    298

    Re: AquaBot Turbo cord problem

    I am all about DIY. I say open it up and take a look, if it then looks to complicated you can put it back together and take it to the repair shop.
    35K IG Vinyl 20 x 40 self built pool, Hayward Pro Series High-Rate Sand Filter 31" 98gal/min, Hayward TriStar 1.85hp, Hayward 400btu heater, BBB method w/Hypo, Jazz light w/matching fiber optic rope lighting around coping w/syncronized color wheels. Concrete Paver deck.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Central PA
    Posts
    63

    Re: AquaBot Turbo cord problem

    Just wanted to report back that I was able to fix the problem. Basically I shortened the cord and reconnected it inside the unit. Obviously there was a bit more to it, but all in all it was not difficult. Ran it for four hrs today with no problems so far.

    Thanks for the encouragement...
    29,000 gal. vinyl in-ground mountain lake (freeform); Hayward DE filter, 2 skimmers, AutoPilot SWG, 2 - 4 X 20 Fafco Solar Bears with Goldline control, Aquabot, LoopLoc winter cover, Pool installed March 2009...

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Re: AquaBot Turbo cord problem

    hi,
    I have the same problem, the cord has problem, I just dont know how you seal the cord? can you please help me what kind of material you used for it.
    Thanks

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Central PA
    Posts
    63

    Re: AquaBot Turbo cord problem

    Well, it's been a while, but as I recall, I used ordinary clear silicone...

    Good luck!
    29,000 gal. vinyl in-ground mountain lake (freeform); Hayward DE filter, 2 skimmers, AutoPilot SWG, 2 - 4 X 20 Fafco Solar Bears with Goldline control, Aquabot, LoopLoc winter cover, Pool installed March 2009...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •